Load VOU and Magic Comps

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
Post Reply
hive8
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 320
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 22:42
Location: Los Angeles

Load VOU and Magic Comps

Post by hive8 » Fri Jun 12, 2015 03:31

Would it be possible to make a load for VOU and Magic Comps. Something we have for QC at the moment.

If not can it be done via FFGL to load the comp, not via spout or syphon but direct in the resolume runtime.
I would take that on if it is possible. Would make Resolume even more powerful then it is already.
HIVE 8 | Quantum Laser | http://www.hive8.com

Babcom
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 08:30

Re: Load VOU and Magic Comps

Post by Babcom » Fri Jun 12, 2015 08:17

+1 on this!!

User avatar
bart
Team Resolume
Posts: 2104
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 10:01
Location: Resolume HQ

Re: Load VOU and Magic Comps

Post by bart » Fri Jun 12, 2015 11:01

Yes I like Vuo but it's only for mac now, we prefer something that works on both Mac and Windows. They say it's on their roadmap so time will tell...

I'm not familiar with Magic and google is not much help here because it's such a generic word. Could you post a link?

User avatar
He2neg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 591
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 21:34
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Load VOU and Magic Comps

Post by He2neg » Fri Jun 12, 2015 11:42

Laptop: XMG P507 // Intel i7-5500 / GTX-1060 / 1tb SSD / 32gb RAM // Touch OSC / Lemur/ APC-40
~self employed AV technician / Schu.VT@posteo.de~
~Berlin~

hive8
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 320
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 22:42
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Load VOU and Magic Comps

Post by hive8 » Tue Jun 16, 2015 13:49

Let me know if you had a look at magic. Runs on both OSX and Windows and provides almost all that VOU does for much cheaper. If we can get a runtime of comps going in resolume like QC, where you can expose values as slider via variables, that be awesome and make resolume more powerful.
HIVE 8 | Quantum Laser | http://www.hive8.com

User avatar
bart
Team Resolume
Posts: 2104
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 10:01
Location: Resolume HQ

Re: Load VOU and Magic Comps

Post by bart » Thu Jun 18, 2015 08:36

Yeah Magic also looks nice, and like Resolume it's also using the JUCE C++ library. they do have an API for writing custom nodes but not for hosting their compositions in another applications, which is what we would need...

hive8
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 320
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 22:42
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Load VOU and Magic Comps

Post by hive8 » Thu Jun 18, 2015 09:43

Could you private message me quick.

I would like to get the process started.
HIVE 8 | Quantum Laser | http://www.hive8.com

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5180
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Load VOU and Magic Comps

Post by Joris » Thu Jun 18, 2015 09:47

You'll need to talk to Magic first.

If you'd like to talk something about specific with us first, just send us a mail@resolume.com

dachhu
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 10:08

Re: Load VOU and Magic Comps

Post by dachhu » Sat Jun 27, 2015 11:13

+1 +1 +1

Been playing with magic recently and it rocks, Spout works well but having the capability I had on mac with QC on my PC would truly be game changing.

:D

hive8
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 320
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 22:42
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Load VOU and Magic Comps

Post by hive8 » Mon Jun 29, 2015 01:38

OK i put out the feelers to magic and waiting on a response.
HIVE 8 | Quantum Laser | http://www.hive8.com

Post Reply