R6 - Saturation for in Advanced Output

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
Post Reply
mfo
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 321
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:48

R6 - Saturation for in Advanced Output

Post by mfo »

The basic manipulations for the final output (Brightness, Contrast etc) are an extremly helpful little feature in Arena! I use it a lot to correct bad projector settings in time-sensitive situations.
Yet, I'm missing one: Saturation. To me more important the R, G, B.
Would be great to get it with R6!

mfo
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 321
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:48

Re: R6 - Saturation for in Advanced Output

Post by mfo »

Actually an option to shift Hues in addition to Saturation would be great too.
Again, this would be extremly helpful to compensate badly setup projectors (in terms of colours).

User avatar
manoeuvretv
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 12:27
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: R6 - Saturation for in Advanced Output

Post by manoeuvretv »

You can set Hue/Sat for your output in the Nvidia control panel, that's probably the easiest workaround that's not going to effect your composition preview. -if on Nvidia that is.
Richard De Souza
MNVR
http://www.mnvr.tv

mfo
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 321
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:48

Re: R6 - Saturation for in Advanced Output

Post by mfo »

Now with R7 and its regular-updates policy I would like to bump this topic.

In my past work this would have been extreme helpful: counter-measure for screwed projector setting or respectively: shitty projectors miserable output.
I know for fast paced VJey visuals and black/white material this is probably not very important, however if you work with nicely graded material or have a corporate customer who pays attention to color/hue ...

Would be great to have better controls (and get rid of the R/G/B controls? What use-case do those have?)!

(And thanks @manoeuvretv for the hint, very helpful. Tho usability and workflow would profit miles by having all controls in one place.)

deflost
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 23:10

Re: R6 - Saturation for in Advanced Output

Post by deflost »

+1

r.h.
westfernsehen, leipzig

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1232
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: R6 - Saturation for in Advanced Output

Post by Arvol »

Use slice transform in your comp then add the FX to that

User avatar
francoe
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 355
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 23:30

Re: R6 - Saturation for in Advanced Output

Post by francoe »

Arvo, I don't see how a slice transform on comp can help to, e.g. increase sat on your thrid screen. Isn't the same as apply saturation filter over comp?

In the meantime, I know controls can be rough, but if you increase contrast = increase saturation. Then adjust or push it up with Brightness and RGB controls.
Can be handy to have a Saturation control on each screen? A big YES.
But remember RGB controls ARE the way. You can't get it rip off.

mfo
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 321
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:48

Re: R6 - Saturation for in Advanced Output

Post by mfo »

Ok, ok, if you love your RGB controls then I will not argue ;)
Personally I don't use them, as they fuck with the black level.

Yes indeed, changing contrast does change saturation which makes Hue/Sat controls so desirable.

(And of course you can apply the effect on slices or global comp, possibly correcting the projection. Yet it is
ruining your preview. That's what I do all the time - and it's dreadful.)

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1232
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: R6 - Saturation for in Advanced Output

Post by Arvol »

francoe wrote:
Thu Dec 19, 2019 02:12
Arvo, I don't see how a slice transform on comp can help to, e.g. increase sat on your thrid screen. Isn't the same as apply saturation filter over comp?

In the meantime, I know controls can be rough, but if you increase contrast = increase saturation. Then adjust or push it up with Brightness and RGB controls.
Can be handy to have a Saturation control on each screen? A big YES.
But remember RGB controls ARE the way. You can't get it rip off.
Create a layer for each screen. Apply slice transform for that screen. Route that layer to the slices in the screen. Apply FX under the slice transform in the layer. That is how I've done it.

User avatar
francoe
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 355
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 23:30

Re: R6 - Saturation for in Advanced Output

Post by francoe »

Create a layer for each screen. Apply slice transform for that screen. Route that layer to the slices in the screen. Apply FX under the slice transform in the layer. That is how I've done it.
Oh, that's a nice way to get the full preview!

Post Reply