Particles effect is missing in R6

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
User avatar
drazkers
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 942
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 10:54
Location: Brady V up in Canada

Re: Particles effect is missing in R6

Post by drazkers » Thu Nov 09, 2017 14:09

edwin wrote:Sorry guys, but the Pixels in Space won't make it to v6.
Thanks for the update.

Mc128k
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 23:21

Re: Particles effect is missing in R6

Post by Mc128k » Sun Dec 10, 2017 23:44

Is there a *probable* release date for the particles fx? I would love to use the other one (particle system), but it can't keep the state for every particle, so having multicolored particles seems impossible.

Thanks

Mc128k
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 23:21

Re: Particles effect is missing in R6

Post by Mc128k » Sun Dec 10, 2017 23:53

Also I would like to post a list of the missing effects in Resolume 6, for reference. Most were useless.

- Luma waves
- Pixels in Space
- Particles
- Snow
- Sparkles
- Static

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5180
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Particles effect is missing in R6

Post by Joris » Mon Dec 11, 2017 09:37

Snow, Sparkles and Static are in the 6.0.1 release.

Luma Waves, Pixels in Space and Particles are not going to make it.

Mc128k
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 23:21

Re: Particles effect is missing in R6

Post by Mc128k » Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:14

Joris wrote:Snow, Sparkles and Static are in the 6.0.1 release.

Luma Waves, Pixels in Space and Particles are not going to make it.
What? Not even particles? The developer told he was going to implement it. There isn't an actual way to replicate the particles effect with other effects because each particle has its own state!

erikvenhues
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 01:29

Re: Particles effect is missing in R6

Post by erikvenhues » Sun Jan 28, 2018 21:06

Please just add 64>32 bit bridge (like in logic for audio units)
Then u dont need to convert old stuff, and we users can continue
With our old projects and worklows. I cant understand why you guys are
Cutting everything so radical. No quartz, no swf, missing ffgls. And on other hand
No new effects or bridge tools (like glsl shader, vuo)

Mc128k
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 23:21

Re: Particles effect is missing in R6

Post by Mc128k » Sun Jan 28, 2018 21:38

erikvenhues wrote:Please just add 64>32 bit bridge (like in logic for audio units)
Then u dont need to convert old stuff, and we users can continue
With our old projects and worklows. I cant understand why you guys are
Cutting everything so radical. No quartz, no swf, missing ffgls. And on other hand
No new effects or bridge tools (like glsl shader, vuo)
Actually integration in Resolume is going on very well, see Ableton Link, blackmagic support and Syphon for example.

As a developer I understand some reasons why they want to cut off older libraries and 32-bit code, and it makes good sense to do so. Keep in mind that once all plugins are 64-bit there will be hardly a need to do such conversion again in the future.

Integration with other real-time software is cool anyway, I think the best thing is to use network protocols (NDI, was it?) or HDMI input, in order to distribute rendering power amongst different computers (I'm having some performance issues with Resolume 6 and generative content)

Post Reply