composition dashboard controls(Selected layer function)

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
Post Reply
User avatar
cash4626
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 03:19
Location: vancouver island

composition dashboard controls(Selected layer function)

Post by cash4626 » Sat Mar 31, 2018 17:07

Hi guys , Thanks again for everything, it just keeps getting better and better.... Question... Is it possible to have the composition dashboard controls be given the "Selected layer" function, so when the composition is selected, the controls can be mapped to the same knobs used for the layer dashboard controls? Hopefully this makes sense, i never know how to properly word my questions :lol:

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2824
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: composition dashboard controls(Selected layer function)

Post by Oaktown » Sat Mar 31, 2018 17:49

Are you running out of knobs?

User avatar
cash4626
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 03:19
Location: vancouver island

Re: composition dashboard controls(Selected layer function)

Post by cash4626 » Sat Mar 31, 2018 18:04

lol sadly yes @Oaktown I only have 8, which are mapped with the selected layer on, so i cannot use them with the composition dashboard controls. If when you select composition it un-selects the layers it would work no? Or is there a reason one layer always needs to be selected at any given time?

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5181
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: composition dashboard controls(Selected layer function)

Post by Joris » Tue Apr 03, 2018 10:16

Resolume is designed around the concept that there always is a selected layer (and a, possibly empty, selected clip). It would get very confused if that were to change all of a sudden.

User avatar
drazkers
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 955
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 10:54
Location: Brady V up in Canada

Re: composition dashboard controls(Selected layer function)

Post by drazkers » Wed Apr 04, 2018 04:56

cash4626 wrote:lol sadly yes @Oaktown I only have 8, which are mapped with the selected layer on, so i cannot use them with the composition dashboard controls. If when you select composition it un-selects the layers it would work no? Or is there a reason one layer always needs to be selected at any given time?
What are you doing with the dashboard dials thats critical besides visual feedback?

User avatar
cash4626
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 03:19
Location: vancouver island

Re: composition dashboard controls(Selected layer function)

Post by cash4626 » Thu Apr 05, 2018 03:57

cool cool, cant win them all. :D

@drazker: yes i would like to use the dashboard controls for visual feedback effects that encompass the whole composition, no its not important but if it was a option it would have made my controller map a little cleaner thats all.

Post Reply