Sony Imaging Edge Webcam from DSLR

Bro, does your rig even lift?
Scratchpole
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 14:27

Sony Imaging Edge Webcam from DSLR

Post by Scratchpole »

Hello all,
I'm trying to use the Sony Imaging Edge Webcam driver to get an input from my DSLR https://support.d-imaging.sony.co.jp/app/webcam/en/
It shows up in the input list but does not play ball at all on both Mac and Windows. It works in other software such as OBS and Vuo.
Any chance you'll have a look at this and get it working please?

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 5183
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Sony Imaging Edge Webcam from DSLR

Post by Zoltán »

What happens when you try to load it in Resolume?

Could you please send us the Resolume log file via the feedback tab in preferences?
Thanks!
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Scratchpole
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 14:27

Re: Sony Imaging Edge Webcam from DSLR

Post by Scratchpole »

Nowt, nuffing, nadda, ziltch happens when loading it in Resolume.
Log sent.

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 5183
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Sony Imaging Edge Webcam from DSLR

Post by Zoltán »

Thanks for the log!
The camera doesn't seem to appear in the logs at all.

Which DSLR are you using it with?
What format should it send?
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Scratchpole
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 14:27

Re: Sony Imaging Edge Webcam from DSLR

Post by Scratchpole »

This is a 'plugin' to use most Sony DSLR cameras as a webcam over USB so it shows up as a standard USB webcam class in other software afaik.
Info from the licensing section on the page I linked to:
libusb
libjpeg-turbo

Scratchpole
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 14:27

Re: Sony Imaging Edge Webcam from DSLR

Post by Scratchpole »

Just tried it again on Windows and it worked after I had used it as an input to a web browser first.
Still no luck at all on Mac.

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 5183
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Sony Imaging Edge Webcam from DSLR

Post by Zoltán »

Hmm, could be a permission issue, is Resolume allowed to access the webcams in the osx privacy settings?
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Scratchpole
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 14:27

Re: Sony Imaging Edge Webcam from DSLR

Post by Scratchpole »

Yep Arena has permissions for camera and no problem seeing the built in facetime.

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 5183
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Sony Imaging Edge Webcam from DSLR

Post by Zoltán »

ok,
What's the resolution and format it's sending to OBS?
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Scratchpole
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 14:27

Re: Sony Imaging Edge Webcam from DSLR

Post by Scratchpole »

It sends 1024x576.

Post Reply