Hardware switch

Bro, does your rig even lift?
Post Reply
kristof
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2021 08:08

Hardware switch

Post by kristof »

Hi guys,

maybe asked before but not finding any good answers yet:

We'd like to trigger a clip/layer by a single dedicated hardware switch, type of launch button.
Idea is that a person of the audience can trigger.

Issue could be that the switch is located about 50-100 meters from computer. Not sure yet if there will be electricity at the location of the switch. Will be placed in open-air, water resistance is +.

Someone who has a simple solution or link to right hardware?

Any input welcome! Thanks in advance!

K

User avatar
Grimm90
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 236
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 19:08

Re: Hardware switch

Post by Grimm90 »

wifi router (or even a mesh) + touchosc on a (waterproof) phone
I don't really recommend wifi for anything live but if you don't want to get a wire there.

Could also make a midi controller with an arduino or raspberry that sends the midi signal over. a cat5utp cable


kristof
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2021 08:08

Re: Hardware switch

Post by kristof »

Thanks guys!

Anyone experience with motion sensors triggering clips?

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1938
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: Hardware switch

Post by Arvol »

Yeah, I've done a few installs with IR sensors and pressure pads. I send data out via DMX and then map that to Arena.

Post Reply