whats your back up system?

Bro, does your rig even lift?
newfuturenow
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 23:34

whats your back up system?

Post by newfuturenow »

I am looking for a safe back up system for my live set, and keen to hear what you guys use?
Ideally i'm looking for a video switch box that can input/output both VGA and DVI and that can switch quickly betweem my macbookpro and a dedicated portable movie player. if I end up in a crash scenario!
Would like to know your recommendations on a not too expensive video switcher and reliable portable video player.
Thanks!
BB

User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1342
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: whats your back up system?

Post by cosmowe »

Check out the... Spark d'fuser.... HOMEPAGE


greetings
cosmowe
w10 || Schenker U506 || lemur || kp3 || pulse || leap motion || magewell capture dongle

DayVeeJay
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 388
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 23:38
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: whats your back up system?

Post by DayVeeJay »

Folsom image processor would be perfect but it'll also run you 6k USD. For a simple backup system you can get a separate dvi and a separate vga switcher. Monoprice has simple DVI switchers that I have used for this purpose. It's not seemless but it's only for backup. For most shows a laptop will be fed into my rackmount PC. The PC has a Blackmagic card in it. The rackmount does all the mapping and routing but very little playback. Should something go wrong on the Laptop I can quickly play clips off of the rackmount.

hive8
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 22:42
Location: Los Angeles

Re: whats your back up system?

Post by hive8 »

I actually use a Folsom ImagePro 3G (stable as a rock) or the RGBLink (China) www.rgblink.com not to bad as well and can be had a little cheaper. Backup Laptop with the complete show on it.
HIVE 8 | Quantum Laser | http://www.hive8.com

User avatar
Yuckfou157
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 135
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 16:02

Re: whats your back up system?

Post by Yuckfou157 »

newfuturenow wrote:I am looking for a safe back up system for my live set, and keen to hear what you guys use?
Ideally i'm looking for a video switch box that can input/output both VGA and DVI
http://www.kramerelectronics.com/produc ... =273&sf=32 8-)

User avatar
drazkers
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 962
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 10:54
Location: Brady V up in Canada

Re: whats your back up system?

Post by drazkers »

Recently purchased

http://www.gefen.com/kvm/dproduct.jsp?prod_id=3113

Part of the family that V-Squared and RadioEditAV seem to be throwing down.

I also keep a spark with me but its a finicky bitch.

deepvisual
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 15:49

Re: whats your back up system?

Post by deepvisual »

trouble with the *spark?
try upgrading the firmware

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2837
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: whats your back up system?

Post by Oaktown »

Depending on how many outputs you're using, output resolution and what type of interface, it could get complicated but I use the Blackmagic Design converters a lot to carry signal over long distance and the HD-SDI to HDMI (or Component) converters have two inputs (SDI and Alt SDI) and switch automatically if the main HD-SDI input fails. So depending on your needs, you could run two identical compositions side by side and if one computer crashes, the converters will switch to the output from your second media server. If you plan to use one media server and a backup image generator, you could distribute the backup signal using an SDI distribution converter with 8 outputs.

I've used that system many times but the other way around (into Resolume Arena via capture card) when I work with a satellite trucks. I'll have them pull two redundant HD-SDI signals in case there is a hardware failure somewhere between the truck and my media server. Thank god i've never had a failure but I've tested it and it works like a charm and switches over in just a few frames.

The other cheaper option if you use DVI and or HDMI would be to use a Kinivo 301BN or Kinivo 501BN since these little HDMI switches will switch automatically based on active input.

As far as back up source, here is a cool little device that one of my friends showed me: http://www.pocketvj.com/
I haven't tested it but it looks promising.

hive8
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 22:42
Location: Los Angeles

Re: whats your back up system?

Post by hive8 »

Nice link on that hardware, but $450 is a bit steep i think for a raspberry PI in a case :).
HIVE 8 | Quantum Laser | http://www.hive8.com

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2837
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: whats your back up system?

Post by Oaktown »

I know but take a look at their demo: http://vimeo.com/92041974. he great thing is you can get two units to work in pair!

Looking into the Raspberry PI....nice!!!!

Post Reply