Page 4 of 5

Re: NVIDIA NVS 810 for new system

Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2017 07:53
by Digitrevx
Seems like such a bad use of the card duplicating a 1080p output. They say it can drive 4k monitors aka scales. But I'm not sure that equates to great good 4k rendering. Definitely not 8k rendering.

Re: NVIDIA NVS 810 for new system

Posted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 00:21
by massta
We are using the Nvidia NVS 810 right now on a large projection installation. Composition is approx. 2500x2500 pixels, content is roughly the same size rendered in DXV3 with simple playback. Output is 5 slices to 5 1920x1080 outputs. Lots of edge blending going on too.

Running with Advanced Output Disabled: 40-50fps
Enabled: 30-40fps.

We've added another layer with a small movie showing titles above the main show layer, this drops frame rates to:
24-34fps which is still acceptable but damn close stuttering. Our CPU is getting taxed at 70% usage (1151 socket 350 i5)

Looking into getting this to run faster.
  • Render all clips with title graphic so we don't have to use another layer.
    Scale all clips to match exact size of composition (some are close but are scaled up causing processing).
    Render all clips with any effects added (some needed Saturation or Exposure to make them pop)
    Check RAM Speed, maybe consider increasing.
    Try overclocking CPU or consider a faster unit.

Re: NVIDIA NVS 810 for new system

Posted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 00:35
by Oaktown
Are you using Arena 6?

My best advice to you would be to get a different GPU. The NVS 810 is a like having two GPUs in SLI inside of one unit:

CUDA Cores 1,024 (512 per GPU)
GPU Memory 4GB DDR3 (2GB per GPU)
Memory Interface 128-bit (64-bit per GPU)
Memory Bandwidth 28.8GB/s

That card is a great solution for signage but unfortunately it doesn't seem well suited for real time rendering. I think that with 5 HD outputs, you'd be better off getting a pair of GTX 1050ti cards:

NVIDIA CUDA® Cores 768
Base Clock (MHz) 1290
Boost Clock (MHz) 1392
Memory Specs:
Memory Speed 7 Gbps
Standard Memory Config 4 GB GDDR5
Memory Interface Width 128-bit
Memory Bandwidth (GB/sec) 112

Re: NVIDIA NVS 810 for new system

Posted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 03:59
by massta
Yes, using Resolume 6.0.3

I was thinking two GPUs would be the answer only because I need 5 outputs plus a monitor.
A Datapath splitter would be nice but edge blending is complicated and works well in Resolume. That wouldn't be possible with a Datapath.
What about even higher Nvidia cards(Quadro 4000 or 6000)? Wouldn't having more RAM and Cores solve my issue. My biggest worry is latency on 2nd GPU outputs. If if fps is better, won't matter if there is lag on some outputs.

Re: NVIDIA NVS 810 for new system

Posted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 08:44
by Oaktown
Why do you think edge blending is not something you can do with a Datapath?

Re: NVIDIA NVS 810 for new system

Posted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 16:19
by Oaktown
Take a look at this video I made a few months ago:

phpBB [video]

Re: NVIDIA NVS 810 for new system

Posted: Wed Jan 08, 2020 15:38
by massta
Yes, edge blending does work with Datapath. But what about warping? If you warp, you will need to stay withing the boundaries of the quadrant you are working on.

Re: NVIDIA NVS 810 for new system

Posted: Wed Jan 08, 2020 17:09
by Oaktown
But what about warping? If you warp, you will need to stay withing the boundaries of the quadrant you are working on.
That would always be the case regardless of how you distribute your signal.

Re: NVIDIA NVS 810 for new system

Posted: Wed Jan 08, 2020 17:55
by massta
See this image. When you have individual outputs, they are singular on the Advanced Output. Meaning each has it's own mesh warping, no?

Re: NVIDIA NVS 810 for new system

Posted: Wed Jan 08, 2020 20:02
by elgarf
massta wrote:
Wed Jan 08, 2020 17:55
When you have individual outputs, they are singular on the Advanced Output. Meaning each has it's own mesh warping, no?
Mesh wraping is for slices, you can have many slices on one screen, each with individual wraping.