External GPU for Macbook pro

Bro, does your rig even lift?
rdpozo
Is taking Resolume on a second date

External GPU for Macbook pro

Post by rdpozo »

Hi forum,

Do any one of you have experience with running Resolume on a macbook pro with a external GPU? I have a macbook pro retina 2013 running Sierra and resolume 6. But im considering getting an external GPU to get more omph. Any advice, thoughts, experience?

Thanks

tajnost
Is taking Resolume on a second date

Re: External GPU for Macbook pro

Post by tajnost »

+1

want to upgrade, but first, need to know other users experience on this.

vj8k3
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time

Post by vj8k3 »

I dont know I'm a noob. But I read a lot of the forms here to try and get in the know and someone was saying that those external GPUs arnt good for Resolume. Idk where it was but if I find it Ill link it here
๐Ÿ‘ฎโ™Ÿ ลŸ๐•„๐•†โ“šแ—ด โ„‚ัโ“โ„ƒ๏ฝ‹ ๅ„๏ผกฮนฤน ๐“ˆฮ”โ“‰๐’ถล‡ ๐Ÿ˜ŽโœŒ

Asus pro duo
Intell cor I7
16 gig ram
Gforce rtx 2060
mouse

Arvol
Might as well join the team

Post by Arvol »

Personally, I wouldn't. eGPU's are asking for trouble. They're great for at home rendering, but I would never recommend one for live use and travel dates.

Once you find a working driver, I wouldn't upgrade, driver issues and loose cables seem to be the biggest problems.

I feel that getting a eGPU for a MBP is just putting a band-aid over the issue. Why not save up a little more and get an actual powerhouse machine? A eGPU runs about-$400-$600, A good GPU is about $300-$1,000.
So for $700-1,600 you're putting on a band-aid. For $1,600-$2,400 your actually fixing the problem by getting a good PC ;)

just my 2cents

Grimm90
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything

Post by Grimm90 »

"So for $700-1,600 you're putting on a band-aid. For $1,600-$2,400 your actually fixing the problem by getting a good PC "

Thats a lot of money for a lot of people man ..