Page 1 of 2

Build server with a lots of output (18 output)

Posted: Fri Oct 12, 2018 10:18
by kevin
I am using Resolume 6, now I have mapping project with 18 projectors and will use resolume.
The total resolution around 15K x 1080 and I will use 5 output 4K@60Hz and 5 FX4 (Many thanks Oaktown advice for me this option)
This is the server I will build, hope anyone can help me take a look:
HP Z8 G4 Workstation
• Windows 10 Pro 64 For WKS PLUS
• HP Z8 G4 Workstation
• Intel® Xeon® Silver 4114 Processor (2.2 GHz, up to 3 GHz w/Turbo Boost, 13.75 MB cache, 2400MHz, 10 core)
• Intel® Xeon® Silver 4114 2nd Processor (2.2 GHz, up to 3 GHz w/Turbo Boost, 13.75 MB cache, 2400MHz, 10 core)
• HP Z8 G4 90 1450W Chassis 100V/20A
• 32 GB (4x8 GB) DDR4-2666 ECC Registered Memory (2 Processors)
• Operating System Load to M.2
• 1 TB HP Z Turbo Drive TLC M.2 SSD
GPU: RTX2080Ti x 2pcs
Input capture card: Datapath VisionSC-HD4+
• Base - 4 x USB 3.0 Type A
• HP Remote Graphics Software (RGS) for Z
• 9.5mm DVD-Writer 1st Optical Disc Drive
• USB Business Slim Wired Keyboard
• HP Wired Optical USB Mouse
• HP Z8 Standard Cooling Solution - 2 Processor
• 3/3/3 year (material/labor/onsite) Warranty
• Single Unit (Tower) Packaging
• HP Z8 G4 1450W/1700W Country Kit

thanks a lot.

Re: Build server with a lots of output (18 output)

Posted: Fri Oct 12, 2018 10:56
by Warspite
I will advise against multi-cpu machines. Very often just filling second cpu socket means 15% performance drop. And clocks for this xeons are too low. These machines are good as render farms, but poor as content creation and delivery powerhorses. Also, Xeon are must if you need tons of memory like 512GB, with 32GB you can go with 18-core i9. It will be twice as fast in target applications. Or if you want to use ECC, go with Xeon W.

Re: Build server with a lots of output (18 output)

Posted: Fri Oct 12, 2018 17:03
by Empyfree
Is there any benefit from having two of those super expensive GPU’s? everything I’ve read says the second card will be just used as an output extender.

Re: Build server with a lots of output (18 output)

Posted: Sat Oct 13, 2018 08:39
by drazkers
You may need to split your content between multiple m.2 cards to have smooth transitions between clips.

Re: Build server with a lots of output (18 output)

Posted: Sat Oct 13, 2018 17:34
by kevin
Empyfree wrote:
Fri Oct 12, 2018 17:03
Is there any benefit from having two of those super expensive GPU’s? everything I’ve read says the second card will be just used as an output extender.
Thanks for your advice.
So you mean Resolume only use the first GPU is RTX2080ti? The second can use with lower GPU, ex GTX1080Ti? But I a bit worry about the different clock between them, maybe will make some issues or conflict.

Re: Build server with a lots of output (18 output)

Posted: Sat Oct 13, 2018 17:39
by kevin
drazkers wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 08:39
You may need to split your content between multiple m.2 cards to have smooth transitions between clips.
Thanks for your advice,
Yes, I will split content but I forgot if use one m2 maybe will make bottleneck. Will use with multi m2 or pcie card.
And could you have more recommend about the hardware that I built pls? The pro guy in above told me should be use core i9 better.

Re: Build server with a lots of output (18 output)

Posted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 05:59
by e3pro
Howd you go? Specifically interested in the VisionSC card, looking at adding it to my Rig.

Re: Build server with a lots of output (18 output)

Posted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 23:34
by Grimm90
and how much did it cost :p

Re: Build server with a lots of output (18 output)

Posted: Wed Dec 12, 2018 11:55
by kevin
e3pro wrote:
Tue Dec 11, 2018 05:59
Howd you go? Specifically interested in the VisionSC card, looking at adding it to my Rig.
Hi,
It run smoothly with from 18K x 1080 and 28K x 1080 with 2 layers, the fps from 40-60fps, I think still OK.
But I not use HP workstation because I used main is Asus RTX 2080 Ti and GTX 1080Ti for extend so too big, not fit with Z6, I built server with Liquid cooling system from ekwb.
In fact, I order SCUHD2 (the new capture card) but we still not yet receive and test it.
I also attached video that I did: https://youtu.be/CA9jrSzZIuk

Re: Build server with a lots of output (18 output)

Posted: Wed Dec 12, 2018 11:57
by kevin
Grimm90 wrote:
Tue Dec 11, 2018 23:34
and how much did it cost :p
I built server around 8000$