I need PC build for live feed and almost no delay

Bro, does your rig even lift?
meshal
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 07:10

Re: I need PC build for live feed and almost no delay

Post by meshal » Thu Jun 13, 2019 11:20

cosmowe wrote:
Thu Jun 13, 2019 07:28
Yes correct.
That's mean I'm losing the beauty of resolume, I don't want to lose that. Is there an alternative way to do so?

User avatar
Yuckfou157
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 16:02

Re: I need PC build for live feed and almost no delay

Post by Yuckfou157 » Sun Jun 16, 2019 23:00

You also have (rather high end) switchers thatcan work with layers, so you have a bottom layer that holds resolume visible and a layer on top that does the camera, but you cannot use the advanced output from resolume for mapping the camera if you want that, and they are rather pricey, like 8000$ + (analog way, grass valley i.e. the real ones...)
http://www.spikkelpaard.nl :mrgreen: Razer Blade - MBP - Arena 6 - Avenue 6 - Chaser - Showkontrol Live - APC40MKII - Novation Launchcontrol XL

techiejay
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2018 19:15

Re: I need PC build for live feed and almost no delay

Post by techiejay » Sun Jun 30, 2019 22:02

Just to pick up on this - sounds like I do similar work to the OP and also need to use Resolume for live camera - we work with super-wide LED walls so often need to put graphics either side of any live feed, to stop presenters from looking 5 metres wide.

I'm in the process of upgrading my rig - new MSI B360 motherboard, i7-8700 CPU, 32GB RAM all in the post as we speak - but I'm interested to see:
Yuckfou157 wrote:
Sun Jun 16, 2019 23:00
You also have (rather high end) switchers thatcan work with layers, so you have a bottom layer that holds resolume visible and a layer on top that does the camera, but you cannot use the advanced output from resolume for mapping the camera if you want that, and they are rather pricey, like 8000$
Now, I'm well aware that zero latency just isn't going to happen, I'm expecting a couple of frames from each link in the chain, but this is do-able....right? I'm worried that the recommendation is like a $8k switcher instead of a new rig or some added RAM. Am I expecting too much??

meshal
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 07:10

Re: I need PC build for live feed and almost no delay

Post by meshal » Sun Jun 30, 2019 22:09

That's great, but is resolume work more on CPU or gpu so that i7 is enough or should pick i9 so that can process more. Idk if switcher going to be pretty looking like only using reaolume

techiejay
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2018 19:15

Re: I need PC build for live feed and almost no delay

Post by techiejay » Mon Jul 01, 2019 00:21

meshal wrote:
Sun Jun 30, 2019 22:09
That's great, but is resolume work more on CPU or gpu so that i7 is enough or should pick i9 so that can process more. Idk if switcher going to be pretty looking like only using reaolume
To be honest, my previous spec was showing very low resource usage during the choppy vid slowdowns, so I couldn't tell you. I asked here and I asked at the BMD forums and got nothing, so honestly, I'm just throwing money at it to get to a decent spec where I can start looking elsewhere if it's still not right.

Post Reply