Page 1 of 1

Sonnet breakaway and MB pro's

Posted: Mon Jul 08, 2019 17:25
by millimedia
Anybody has a clue here:
I have a 15´Macbook Pro late 2016 that runs beautifully with the 570 Breakaway puck from Sonnet.

The 15' is sick (cmd-button diet, battery bulging, and what have you)

So I bought a top spec'ed MB Pro 13' 2019, to do jobs while it's away.

With the new one, I can run my kind of projects (2cams inn, 12 layers, 1080/60P) without the Sonnet. Which is nice, since I travel with hand luggage only.

BUT when I add the eGPU, everything slows down til half. Activity monitor shows that both work, they are just very lazy. (With the 15", the AMD is at 100% all the time)

I can't find any drivers for the eGPU.

Anybody got a clue here???

/i

Re: Sonnet breakaway and MB pro's

Posted: Tue Jul 09, 2019 10:11
by Zoltán
Try connecting your output to the egpu.

Re: Sonnet breakaway and MB pro's

Posted: Wed Jul 10, 2019 09:25
by millimedia
Sorry, I don't follow.
The E-gpu is connected via ThB3-cable. I tap the Resolume Program via E-gpu HDMI port to projector.
Everything works as it did on the old machine, but with much lower framerate on the new machine compared to the old, with the same setup. (average 45-50fps dropped to around 20fps)

- So I don't get what you mean by "Try connecting your output to the egpu".
Sorry for being slow, here;)

/i

Re: Sonnet breakaway and MB pro's

Posted: Wed Jul 10, 2019 11:04
by Zoltán
I don't get what you mean by "Try connecting your output to the egpu".
Usually taking the output from the renderer directly helps with performance.
You might need to run your main monitor also from the same GPU to get better performance.
Or perhaps the 13" macbook is just not up to the task.

Re: Sonnet breakaway and MB pro's

Posted: Wed Jul 10, 2019 14:46
by cvanhoose
Zoltán wrote:
Wed Jul 10, 2019 11:04
I don't get what you mean by "Try connecting your output to the egpu".
Usually taking the output from the renderer directly helps with performance.
You might need to run your main monitor also from the same GPU to get better performance.
Or perhaps the 13" macbook is just not up to the task.
You will need to run the GUI from a monitor from the external graphics card. You will see a great increase in performance.