Buy an SSD hard drive and VJ with your hair on fire!

Bro, does your rig even lift?
User avatar
Godzil
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 13:18

Re: Buy an SSD hard drive and VJ with your hair on fire!

Post by Godzil »


User avatar
gradek
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 236
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 20:14

Re: Buy an SSD hard drive and VJ with your hair on fire!

Post by gradek »

Godzil, 20-30fps is not hair on fire speeds, but I see you are switching decks while this is happening. what was your performance like before with an Intel SSD and are you running the SSD internal or external?
Want to map LED rings with Resolume? Then look no further: https://goo.gl/f2dPGu

User avatar
Godzil
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 13:18

Re: Buy an SSD hard drive and VJ with your hair on fire!

Post by Godzil »

Internal system disk. Win 7. About 200 clips at every deck, all of them rendered with DXV codec.
20-30 fps it's only during decks switching. Before that, with WD 5400 rpm HDD, it was 3-5 fps for few minuets.

User avatar
gradek
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 236
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 20:14

Re: Buy an SSD hard drive and VJ with your hair on fire!

Post by gradek »

@Godzil,

Thanks for sharing your experiences. I just did a really simple test comparing my internal SSD and External 7200 HD. http://ww.resolume.com/forum/viewtopic. ... 466#p23466

I didn't notice much difference when switching to a deck with about 30 clips on the External vs. a deck with 30 clips on my Internal SSD. But the playback speed difference was better with the SSD.

The performance of deck switching seems to have been resolved in the new 3.1.3 update. what version did you do your test on?

----

@low-res

there is some talk about install SSD on External drives via eSATA going on here. other people are having some performance issues: http://ww.resolume.com/forum/viewtopic. ... 466#p23446
Want to map LED rings with Resolume? Then look no further: https://goo.gl/f2dPGu

lo-res
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 07:50

Re: Buy an SSD hard drive and VJ with your hair on fire!

Post by lo-res »

Thanks for the info Gradek. Have managed to install the external SSD but have not noticed a massive improvement in playback. I'm planning to do a "live" partition on my hard drive but am seeking advice on the best way to do this without wiping my entire hard drive. Will let you know the results when I've completed the task.

User avatar
Godzil
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 13:18

Re: Buy an SSD hard drive and VJ with your hair on fire!

Post by Godzil »

gradek wrote:@Godzil,
The performance of deck switching seems to have been resolved in the new 3.1.3 update. what version did you do your test on?
On video is 3.1.1. SSD and 3.1.3 are beaten combination ;)

User avatar
gradek
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 236
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 20:14

Re: Buy an SSD hard drive and VJ with your hair on fire!

Post by gradek »

@low-res

I just did the same thing with my Internal SSD drive. I made a 38gb partition for clips to use during a live set. With OSX it is really easy to do. you can use the built in disk utility to split the partition. Remember to backup your data, because sometimes there can be issues or errors when partitioning. the best way is to launch disk utility from the install DVD and do it that way. partition a drive that is running your OS can be tricky/dangerous. for the PC I used to use a program called partition magic that lets you partition a drive without deleting data, or reformatting. again, backup first.

having a partition is a good idea. that way if you ever want to move the files to another drive internal or external you just copy the disk image. all your decks will still be linked in resolume. If you just move the files to a new drive, resolume will not fine them in their new location. this might be a bit different on mac and pc since resolume might look at drive letter instead of drive name when running on windows. but i'm not sure.
Want to map LED rings with Resolume? Then look no further: https://goo.gl/f2dPGu

lo-res
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 07:50

Re: Buy an SSD hard drive and VJ with your hair on fire!

Post by lo-res »

Thanks Gradek, I'll get on it ASAP. :)

VJsynC
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 00:19
Location: Lisbon - Portugal

Re: Buy an SSD hard drive and VJ with your hair on fire!

Post by VJsynC »

well, since i really really had to buy an ssd drive, can you guys suggest me the best external drive with the best quality/price relation? 100 / 128 GB, that could work well with resolume?

Thanks,
Sync.

User avatar
francoe
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 355
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 23:30

Re: Buy an SSD hard drive and VJ with your hair on fire!

Post by francoe »

bart wrote: This degradation of SSD drives is solved with TRIM, info here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TRIM_(SSD_command)
Exactly, TRIM solves the speed degradation over time. A real smart implementation by the way.
But following the 'theory', SSD drives seems to have a small timelife (if you make a heavy use).
If I'm not wrong, you have only a millon writes/deletions per unit.
Have you some knowledge or experience about that?

Post Reply