How Do You Scratch Video?

Bro, does your rig even lift?
ranimmo
Met Resolume in a bar the other day

How Do You Scratch Video?

Post by ranimmo »

Hey,

Forgive me because I am kinda new to this whole midi thing. But I have a question. Does anyone know how to get a knob on a midi controller (specifically the MPD 26) to scratch video?

The way I currently have it set up is I just simply mapped the knob I wanted to use to the playhead of the active layer. But this presents a few problems. The knob sends out a value between 0 and I think 127. The way avenue seems to read that is that 0 is the beginning of the clip and 127 is the end. So, scratching works BUT if I take my hand off the knob when it is at say, 30 and then the clip plays out to say 80, when I grab the knob again to scratch it jumps back to the position where I last let go. It seems like I would have to send some sort of signal back to the controller to let it know where the playhead currently is. Is this possible?

Also, the controller says that these knobs are infinite pots, but it stops at the end of its range. This means that if I want to scratch on the seam of a video loop, I can't. Once it gets to 0 or 127 it cant go any further.

And finally, if the clips are different lengths it makes it difficult to scratch them the same. IE a longer clip will scratch farther with the same physical twisting of the knob.

I guess my question is, is there anyway to map out the scratching to make it act a bit more like an actual turntable? Maybe by controlling two different parameters at once. I would like to buy a midi turntable to scratch eventually, but I would like to figure out how all this works before I sink money into it.

Thanks in advance for any help. :)

EDIT: I keep reading about something called relative mode. This seems like it might be the solution to my problems. Can some one explain to me what that is?

dradutu
Is taking Resolume on a second date

Re: How Do You Scratch Video?

Post by dradutu »