VGA extenders

Bro, does your rig even lift?
Post Reply
fruitygreen
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 08:52

VGA extenders

Post by fruitygreen »

Can anyone give advice as to what kind of VGA extender that is good for extending to Matrox 3plhead2go.

Something that can atleast do 3840 x 720.

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1304
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: VGA extenders

Post by cosmowe »

...extending to Matrox 3plhead2go


???


hmmm...did't get it! Do you mean a distance extension for VGA?
w10 || Schenker U506 || lemur || kp3 || pulse || leap motion || magewell capture dongle

Tecno`
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 15:27
Location: Northampton UK

Re: VGA extenders

Post by Tecno` »

fruitygreen wrote:Can anyone give advice as to what kind of VGA extender that is good for extending to Matrox 3plhead2go.

Something that can atleast do 3840 x 720.

Thanks in advance.
Hi,

I have done this once, using a dual head to go after the extender but I would have thought that normally you would need to extend each of the TH2G outputs using the VGA extenders that I was using, especially at high resolution.

When I did this using a DH2G I powered it using a USB hub. It worked fairly well but the screens seemed to loose signal sometimes when I went to black. That may have been a setting on the LCD screens rather than a problem with the DH2G running at a distance.

Tim

User avatar
VJair
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 609
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 21:23
Location: Kent - UK

Re: VGA extenders

Post by VJair »

yeah id probably put the extenders after the thtg -3840 x 720 is going to be above the resolution of most vga extenders.

we use the Kramer units - not the cheapest, but never had a problem with them.

fruitygreen
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 08:52

Re: VGA extenders

Post by fruitygreen »

VJair wrote:yeah id probably put the extenders after the thtg -3840 x 720 is going to be above the resolution of most vga extenders.

we use the Kramer units - not the cheapest, but never had a problem with them.
Yes, I have extenders from the 3H2GO. 3, 1 for each output projector.

Let me ask this another way.

Is there a VGA extender that can output 3840 x 720?
So I can extend from my computer to a cluster of projectors in near proximity. Using just 1 cable as opposed to 3 .


Thanks again

Virus
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 20:16

Re: VGA extenders

Post by Virus »

fruitygreen wrote: Is there a VGA extender that can output 3840 x 720?
So I can extend from my computer to a cluster of projectors in near proximity. Using just 1 cable as opposed to 3 .
hi, i think that does't work cause the TH2GO has to comunicate with the grafic card in the computer. tihs is not possible if the signal is changed.

i tried something on a event:
i put a kramer vga spliter between th TH and the projector... works not (no signal).
with the kramer vp- 4x4 (VGA matrix) between the pc an the TH the signal was here but the quality was reduced.

so the solution was to take a 25m vga cable fron the pc to the TH and 3 x 35m cable from the TH to the projectors... this works fine.

hope this helps

Post Reply