Resolume 6

FFGL, OSC, GLSL. If you like abbreviations, this is the forum for you
Post Reply
keshrath
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 12:37

Resolume 6

Post by keshrath »

Resolume 6 is coming and I can't wait to get my hands on it :)
I know there is an event in Las Vegas but unfortunately, I won't be able to join you guys there. It is just too far away^^ So I was hoping someone could answer me a few questions.

Right now Resolume makes use of FFGL Plugins to create Effects and Sources. I know nowadays it is also possible to use Processing and Cinder with Spout and there is also a Plugin for OpenFrameworks I guess. But it just doesn't work as nice as a plain FFGL Plugin. So I have a few projects in mind, which I want to develop in the near future, but now since Resolume 6 is on the door step I'm afraid the work could be wasted. Will Resolume 6 also use FFGL Plugins? The Frameframe 1.5 framework is quite old and I don't see any plans for a new version. Does someone know I a new version is planned?

Any information is highly appreciated :)

PS: Will there be a Beta version of Resolume 6 to test the new software?

Cheers
Mathias

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5185
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Resolume 6

Post by Joris »

There is a FFGL repo on Github, which can also compile for 64 bit / Res 6: https://github.com/resolume/ffgl

FFGL is old, but all the functions you really need are just standard c++.

If you want to use modern OpenGL instead of the "grandpa" OpenGL used in the examples, that's perfectly fine. The repo is open source, so feel free to put in some pull requests if you have some more modern examples to share.

keshrath
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 12:37

Re: Resolume 6

Post by keshrath »

Thx for the info! :)

Menno
Team Resolume
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 13:56

Re: Resolume 6

Post by Menno »

Just note that on osx the plugins will still be running in a legacy context. And on windows you will be running with a 3.2 compatibility profile.

User avatar
subpixel
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 09:32
Location: Sydney, AU

Re: Resolume 6

Post by subpixel »

Hey devs,

I'm glad to have been pointed to the resolume/ffgl project on GitHub by Joris, and have "ported" a plugin I made to this fork(?) of the FreeFrame SDK and can now successfully build Windows x64 DLLs. :)

Something that I have noticed, however, is that the resulting DLL is larger than expected, and building for Win32 (from more or less the same plugin code as before) is now about 20 times larger (or more) than my original project (jump from about 11kB to 263kB; the x64 DLL is 338kB).

Can anyone give me a head start on what the difference is caused by, whether some project settings need to be changed, etc?

-subpixel.
spxlTriToneRGB interface 01.png

User avatar
subpixel
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 09:32
Location: Sydney, AU

Re: Resolume 6

Post by subpixel »

Gnarly... When you use the custom types for parameters you get a multi mode colour picker.

Code: Select all

// Added by Resolume for HSB colors
#define FF_TYPE_HUE					200
#define FF_TYPE_SATURATION			201
#define FF_TYPE_BRIGHTNESS			202
I haven't tried to get the alpha value out yet. What type/number should it be?
spxlTriToneRGB interface 03.png

Post Reply