Optimising for an extended output with 4K content

Just let it all out, buddy. You're among friends here.
Post Reply
newfuturenow
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 23:34

Optimising for an extended output with 4K content

Post by newfuturenow » Thu Jan 10, 2019 22:54

I have a set that requires an output of 7680 X 1080, some of the video content has been provided to me by the organisers to map to the stage and is a resolution of 3840 X 2160 /4K. The content will require a lot of slicing to fit the various LED screens.

What do you think would be best - To rearrange and re-export the 4K content via AE to fit the pixel map and the 4 pixel map outputs of 1920X1080 in After Effects. Or to create a composition of 7680 X 2160 in Resolume and work with slices in the advanced output panel?

I have a 2018 macbookpro that I havent had the chance to test at a resolution of this size, I am not sure how it would handle a composition size of 7680 X 2160, which is considerably more than 7680 X 1080.
Would it make that much of a difference, if realistically I am only using 7680 X 1080 of the display space?

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 3683
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Optimising for an extended output with 4K content

Post by Zoltán » Mon Jan 14, 2019 09:50

7680 X 1080 is the same amount of pixels as 3840 X 2160.
I'd do the re-arranging in a 4k composition in Resolume and the Advanced Output.
Is your other footage for the event 7680 X 1080?
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

newfuturenow
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 23:34

Re: Optimising for an extended output with 4K content

Post by newfuturenow » Mon Jan 14, 2019 14:57

All the content is a mix of HD and 4K. So can I import 4K video as my content and use a composition setting of 4K and then slice this up and output it to a different size (e.g. 7680x1080) ? Is that correct ? I had always beleived that my imported video had to fit within the output display resolutions.
Thanks

User avatar
He2neg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 585
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 21:34
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Optimising for an extended output with 4K content

Post by He2neg » Tue Jan 15, 2019 20:20

Yes,

You can slice it up in every way you want. Biger, smaller, to different outputs etc etc...

https://resolume.com/support/en/input-m ... n-led-wall

phpBB [video]



phpBB [video]
Laptop: XMG P507 // Intel i7-5500 / GTX-1060 / 1tb SSD / 32gb RAM // Touch OSC / Lemur/ APC-40
~self employed AV technician / Schu.VT@posteo.de~
~Berlin~

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5180
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Optimising for an extended output with 4K content

Post by Joris » Tue Jan 15, 2019 20:53

I see what you did there

User avatar
He2neg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 585
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 21:34
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Optimising for an extended output with 4K content

Post by He2neg » Wed Jan 16, 2019 17:04

Joris wrote:
Tue Jan 15, 2019 20:53
I see what you did there
I dont :P :oops: :mrgreen: :ugeek:
Laptop: XMG P507 // Intel i7-5500 / GTX-1060 / 1tb SSD / 32gb RAM // Touch OSC / Lemur/ APC-40
~self employed AV technician / Schu.VT@posteo.de~
~Berlin~

Post Reply