I need PC build for live feed and almost no delay

Bro, does your rig even lift?
meshal
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 07:10

I need PC build for live feed and almost no delay

Post by meshal » Fri Feb 15, 2019 14:25

Hi there,

I’m using Resolume for multiple events projection mapping and on large LED’s screen. Most of the time, I have a live feed and progect it on the screen but there is a delay. How to avoid that? If any one tried that can share there build or let me know what I need the most.

Thank you

willtom
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 12:28

Re: I need PC build for live feed and almost no delay

Post by willtom » Fri Mar 08, 2019 12:14

What hardware are you currently using? There will always be some latency, but you may have something obvious we can suggest

meshal
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 07:10

Re: I need PC build for live feed and almost no delay

Post by meshal » Fri Mar 08, 2019 12:35

I'm using regular one right now I want a new build that doesn't have that much of delay. Usually, you don't see the delay or almost doesn't exist because it is so small. I'm using Blackmagic as a capture card the 12G. I don't know what should I use as GPU and CPU to reduce that amount of delay

moha20106
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2018 07:56

Re: I need PC build for live feed and almost no delay

Post by moha20106 » Sun Mar 10, 2019 01:49

You can build your custom PC with high end components
CPU : look for higher Ghz
(2x Xeon for workstation, or 1x i9 for normal PC)

GPU : 1080ti, 1080 or 1070ti
Storage : SSD : Nvme pcie for OS
(or 2x normal SSD using "RAID 0" for costs)

RAM : 16GB or more (if you use rendering buy 32GB)
The mother board must have more Pcie slots
The power supply must be 700w or higher

Empyfree
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 248
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 23:36

Re: I need PC build for live feed and almost no delay

Post by Empyfree » Sun Mar 10, 2019 08:19

Try this first. Get rid of the computer and try something with (hopefully) next to no latency, I.e. hook the camera straight to the video wall processor. See what the lag is like. You might spend thousands only to find out the delay isn’t coming from your computer!

meshal
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 07:10

Re: I need PC build for live feed and almost no delay

Post by meshal » Sun Mar 10, 2019 09:01

It's from the computer because if I connected it directly to video processor there are almost no delay. I can see the live feed with lesser delay I perly notice the delay on resume

SergioCaparelli
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2019 23:10

Re: I need PC build for live feed and almost no delay

Post by SergioCaparelli » Tue Jun 11, 2019 21:47

All capture cards have visible latency, compared to hardware solutions like an Image Pro. Your best bet would be using a Datapath capture card, since they are a little faster than blackmagic. Another option if delay is crucial would be using some kind of matrix and and image pro to switch to the live feed.

User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1234
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: I need PC build for live feed and almost no delay

Post by cosmowe » Wed Jun 12, 2019 17:34

Short.... There is no no-delay or a 1-2 frame sollution when you use Resolume + Capture Card. The best you can get is 3-4 frames delay.

Get yourself a little seamless switcher with 1 fps delay and switch between Resolume and yor cam.


Best wishes
Cosmowe
w10 || Schenker U506 || lemur || kp3 || pulse || leap motion || spark d'fuser || magewell capture dongle

meshal
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 07:10

Re: I need PC build for live feed and almost no delay

Post by meshal » Wed Jun 12, 2019 17:44

cosmowe wrote:
Wed Jun 12, 2019 17:34
Short.... There is no no-delay or a 1-2 frame sollution when you use Resolume + Capture Card. The best you can get is 3-4 frames delay.

Get yourself a little seamless switcher with 1 fps delay and switch between Resolume and yor cam.


Best wishes
Cosmowe
Hi there,

Thank you for replying, can you explain more? the idea of using resolume is having embedded pictures, live cam and frames resolume , if I’m using swicher I don’t think that I can use background videos with the live cam. Am I correct?

User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1234
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: I need PC build for live feed and almost no delay

Post by cosmowe » Thu Jun 13, 2019 07:28

Yes correct.
w10 || Schenker U506 || lemur || kp3 || pulse || leap motion || spark d'fuser || magewell capture dongle

Post Reply