Simple Tile Mirror Plugin

Just let it all out, buddy. You're among friends here.
User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2837
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Simple Tile Mirror Plugin

Post by Oaktown »

Awesome! Thanks Hive8 :)

Kadete
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 13:04
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re: Simple Tile Mirror Plugin

Post by Kadete »

Oaktown wrote:Awesome! Thanks Hive8 :)
Hi there :) . I miss this effect on R6.

Hive8 you have any plans to update it?
There's another way to get the same effect? (Default Tile doesn't have mirror option)

Have a nice NYE everyone :D

hive8
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 331
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 22:42
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Simple Tile Mirror Plugin

Post by hive8 »

Hi yes i am updating all the effects plugins that i made go to www.hive8.com and sign up for the news letter i send out a email as soon i am done. If you wanna write me a email quick PM i can send it to you before
HIVE 8 | Quantum Laser | http://www.hive8.com

hive8
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 331
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 22:42
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Simple Tile Mirror Plugin

Post by hive8 »

I did a quick convert for 64bit.

I found one problem regarding sizing, currently investigating how to fix it or where i have a bug, you have to play with the clip height to get a clean repeat or mirror repeat, the width seems to be not affected (really strange). When i use a 1080p clip i have to change the height to 1088 and all looks OK.

Please go to my website and sign up for news and new builds.
Attachments
Hive8TileMirrorV2-64.zip
(76.18 KiB) Downloaded 539 times
HIVE 8 | Quantum Laser | http://www.hive8.com

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5185
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Simple Tile Mirror Plugin

Post by Joris »

You'll want to look into GetMaxGLTexCoords :)

hive8
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 331
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 22:42
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Simple Tile Mirror Plugin

Post by hive8 »

Hi Joris i did look into it and i took it complete out and hard coded them

took that line out
FFGLTexCoords maxCoords = GetMaxGLTexCoords(Texture);

glBegin(GL_QUADS);
//By default an image texture exists
//lower left
glTexCoord2f(0, 0);
//glMultiTexCoord2f(GL_TEXTURE0, 0, 0);
glVertex2f(-1, -1);

//upper left
glTexCoord2f(0, 1);
//glMultiTexCoord2f(GL_TEXTURE0, 0, maxCoords.t);
glVertex2f(-1, 1);

//upper right
glTexCoord2f(1, 1);
//glMultiTexCoord2f(GL_TEXTURE0, maxCoords.s, maxCoords.t);
glVertex2f(1, 1);

//lower right
glTexCoord2f(1, 0);
//glMultiTexCoord2f(GL_TEXTURE0, maxCoords.s, 0);
glVertex2f(1, -1);
glEnd();

Do you have any more advise for me :)
HIVE 8 | Quantum Laser | http://www.hive8.com

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5185
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Simple Tile Mirror Plugin

Post by Joris »

1088 is the size of the texture used by the GPU, because GPUs like working with multiples of 16.

1080 is the last row of pixels containing any actual data. The other 8 rows are just filled with black.

Which pixels contain data is retrievable via GetMaxGLTexCoords. In your case, you'll need to multiply any texture coordinates by the maximum texture coordinates of 0.9926470588 (1080/1088). To be safe, that needs to happen on both the x and y axes (of course using different values for x and y!)

hive8
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 331
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 22:42
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Simple Tile Mirror Plugin

Post by hive8 »

Oh wow OK did not know that, thank you for the info. So i need to do a check. Since other people use other resolutions have to make it dynamic. Thank you very much.
HIVE 8 | Quantum Laser | http://www.hive8.com

Kadete
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 13:04
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re: Simple Tile Mirror Plugin

Post by Kadete »

hive8 wrote:Oh wow OK did not know that, thank you for the info. So i need to do a check. Since other people use other resolutions have to make it dynamic. Thank you very much.
Hi Hive, i don't know if it's hard or not, but if you could do a "master" slider to keep both width and height with the same values, would be great. Like the new standard scale.

Regards

hive8
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 331
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 22:42
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Simple Tile Mirror Plugin

Post by hive8 »

Yes i can add that, Joris are there new API calls to create these sliders?
HIVE 8 | Quantum Laser | http://www.hive8.com

Post Reply