Help, MSI GS65 8RF Crash

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Marcelino96
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 15:55

Help, MSI GS65 8RF Crash

Post by Marcelino96 » Sat Jul 14, 2018 17:48

Hello

I know optimus has been big issue

but is there a way to safe myself from this?

i really need my gs65 to work

but right now everytime i open resolume advance setting and shoot the display to my output, it just gonna go gray screen and not responding.

I already do open resolume on second display and drag to my primary. even than its only capped 30 fps.
Vsync on and off still cap at 30 i dont know why. I only notice no tearing when vsync is on.

I have no other solution to try..
Can resolume team make resolume 6 one that is tailored to be run optimally with optimus? I really gonna cry because gs65 is so is like $3000 here in indonesia..

Bought cause it said dedicated gpu.. but here we go again with optimus drama ffs.. help me really

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 3444
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Help, MSI GS65 8RF Crash

Post by Zoltán » Sat Jul 14, 2018 23:31

Sounds like another MSI laptop with issues: viewtopic.php?f=12&t=15711

We have some reports on the forums that the Windows 10 2018 spring update and the nvidia 397.31 drivers can solve this issue.

If that doesn't work for you, you can try to disable Optimus to work around this issue..
You should be able to do this in your BIOS.

If your bios doesn't support disabling Optimus, you could try our other workaround:
connect your external display, make it primary in windows,
start Resolume, and move the Resolume window to your laptop's screen.
You should be able to use Resolume now fine.

What you also could try would be to revert the nvidia driver to the latest from the 37x.xx series available for your card. We have some reports about it solving the issue.

​You could also try to update your GPU drivers to the latest versions.

Or could try to disable the integrated GPU in the device manager.

Or Install windows 7 instead of windows 10 on this machine.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

vnryhn
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2018 17:46

Re: Help, MSI GS65 8RF Crash

Post by vnryhn » Sun Jul 15, 2018 09:10

Hey bro , try to uninstall nahimic. An audio software installed on msi. I use gs73 8rf and itcures grey screen and freeze when open resolume 6. But i still have problem when i use triple screen, my frame rate at max 30 fps. If u have sollution for my problem , let me know.
Thanks

vnryhn
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2018 17:46

Re: Help, MSI GS65 8RF Crash

Post by vnryhn » Sun Jul 15, 2018 09:36

So youre indonesia people who brought expensive msi laptop to play resolume6 smoothly but u realize your laptop has problem with optimus? Sounds like me. I feel you broo :lol: :lol:

Marcelino96
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 15:55

Re: Help, MSI GS65 8RF Crash

Post by Marcelino96 » Mon Jul 16, 2018 05:34

So msi cannot disable optimus from bios

Even if i plug my external monitor to open resolume, when i open advance setting and select my external monitor, it will constantly crash resolume

Uninstalling nahimic havent solve grey screen for me

Disabling intel from device manager is no solution because nvidia will also disabled too

Can resolume make a special software to be run optimally in optimus machine already?

Tgis 3000 usd machine is a big waste without my resolume working properly.

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 3444
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Help, MSI GS65 8RF Crash

Post by Zoltán » Mon Jul 16, 2018 07:38

Marcelino96 wrote:
Mon Jul 16, 2018 05:34
Can resolume make a special software to be run optimally in optimus machine already?
This is not something we can fix, it's the manufacturers who need to fix this.

This is not a Resolume only issue: http://bigscreenvr.com/help/faq/optimus/

Have you tried the older 37.xx.xx drivers or windows 7 on this machine yet?
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Marcelino96
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 15:55

Re: Help, MSI GS65 8RF Crash

Post by Marcelino96 » Mon Jul 16, 2018 10:59

I'm looking to trade in my MSI GS65 with GT75 8RF

Can anyone confirm GT75 doesnt have this optimus drama?

elgarf
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 206
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 05:52

Re: Help, MSI GS65 8RF Crash

Post by elgarf » Mon Jul 16, 2018 12:30

I have GS65 8RE, and Resolume works pretty good.

Latest windows & drivers updates.

Have you tried update BIOS? Remove MSI TrueColor, if you have it installed.

Jockgerman
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2018 09:59

Re: Help, MSI GS65 8RF Crash

Post by Jockgerman » Sat Dec 01, 2018 11:36

Hi Guys,
has this been solved?

I have the same problem with my GS65 8RF.

The weird thing was, that it was working after again yesterday after installing the new Geforce drivers.
Today after rebooting my system it crashes again when clicking an output.

I hope somebody has some good news for me!

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5175
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Help, MSI GS65 8RF Crash

Post by Joris » Mon Dec 03, 2018 12:27

If it was working, then without changing any Resolume versions, it suddenly stops working, it sounds like your main problem is drivers.

If you send in the crash report, we'll be happy to take a look with you. But from the info in your post, there's not really anything to confirm as fixed or not.

Post Reply