GoPro Hero 5 Session to Resolume

Bro, does your rig even lift?
Post Reply
StephenSparke
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 21:29

GoPro Hero 5 Session to Resolume

Post by StephenSparke » Wed Aug 08, 2018 14:19

Hi,

I recently purchased a couple of GoPro Hero 5 Sessions without looking at doing anything to do with Resolume. I am now wanting to use these as a live input into Resolume.

I already have a blackmagic card that we could use for the input but we are wondering whether the signal can be outputted from the USB-C on the GoPro, into the HDMI of the blackmagic card with a USB-C - HDMI cable. (I don't really want to buy the cable if it's not going to work)

Has anyone had any experience with this?

Thanks in advance

Empyfree
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 255
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 23:36

Re: GoPro Hero 5 Session to Resolume

Post by Empyfree » Wed Aug 08, 2018 15:54

Doesn’t look like it. GoPro mentioned that it might be possible with a (GoPro branded) adaptor (not just a cable) but then it seems they haven’t brought that adaptor out yet.

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1054
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: GoPro Hero 5 Session to Resolume

Post by Arvol » Wed Aug 08, 2018 16:24

Could you go Micro HDMI into your BMD card?

StephenSparke
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 21:29

Re: GoPro Hero 5 Session to Resolume

Post by StephenSparke » Thu Aug 09, 2018 12:34

This gopro doesn't have a micro hdmi port unfortunately. Only USB-C

dradutu
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 15:04

Re: GoPro Hero 5 Session to Resolume

Post by dradutu » Tue Aug 13, 2019 20:31

hero 4 black had an usb to av output, i guess if you sacrifice a usbc cable and connect the right wires to a rca plug, you'll get analog out.

i once bought a camera off ebay, unbranded, Allwinner V3, paid 20$, claimed 4k but maybe 1080 quality. it had 720p through miniusb and resolume recognised it. still have it. laggy though, half a second maybe, but that's the same with capture cards usually. but also poor low light, surely worse than gopro. if your friend has one of these gopro knockoffs give it a try

also, look into streaming wirelessly the gopro to vlc and spouting vlc to resolume. or maybe use ndi in vlc, i think there's a plugin for it

Post Reply