Optimising for an extended output with 4K content

Just let it all out, buddy. You're among friends here.
Post Reply
newfuturenow
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 23:34

Optimising for an extended output with 4K content

Post by newfuturenow » Thu Jan 10, 2019 22:54

I have a set that requires an output of 7680 X 1080, some of the video content has been provided to me by the organisers to map to the stage and is a resolution of 3840 X 2160 /4K. The content will require a lot of slicing to fit the various LED screens.

What do you think would be best - To rearrange and re-export the 4K content via AE to fit the pixel map and the 4 pixel map outputs of 1920X1080 in After Effects. Or to create a composition of 7680 X 2160 in Resolume and work with slices in the advanced output panel?

I have a 2018 macbookpro that I havent had the chance to test at a resolution of this size, I am not sure how it would handle a composition size of 7680 X 2160, which is considerably more than 7680 X 1080.
Would it make that much of a difference, if realistically I am only using 7680 X 1080 of the display space?

User avatar
Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 3286
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Optimising for an extended output with 4K content

Post by Zoltán » Mon Jan 14, 2019 09:50

7680 X 1080 is the same amount of pixels as 3840 X 2160.
I'd do the re-arranging in a 4k composition in Resolume and the Advanced Output.
Is your other footage for the event 7680 X 1080?
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

newfuturenow
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 23:34

Re: Optimising for an extended output with 4K content

Post by newfuturenow » Mon Jan 14, 2019 14:57

All the content is a mix of HD and 4K. So can I import 4K video as my content and use a composition setting of 4K and then slice this up and output it to a different size (e.g. 7680x1080) ? Is that correct ? I had always beleived that my imported video had to fit within the output display resolutions.
Thanks

User avatar
He2neg
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 496
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 21:34
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Optimising for an extended output with 4K content

Post by He2neg » Tue Jan 15, 2019 20:20

Yes,

You can slice it up in every way you want. Biger, smaller, to different outputs etc etc...

https://resolume.com/support/en/input-m ... n-led-wall

phpBB [video]



phpBB [video]
Laptop: XMG P507 // Intel i7-5500 / GTX-1060 / 1tb SSD / 32gb RAM // Touch OSC / Lemur/ APC-40
~self employed AV technician / Schu.VT@posteo.de~
~Berlin~

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5122
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Optimising for an extended output with 4K content

Post by Joris » Tue Jan 15, 2019 20:53

I see what you did there

User avatar
He2neg
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 496
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 21:34
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Optimising for an extended output with 4K content

Post by He2neg » Wed Jan 16, 2019 17:04

Joris wrote:
Tue Jan 15, 2019 20:53
I see what you did there
I dont :P :oops: :mrgreen: :ugeek:
Laptop: XMG P507 // Intel i7-5500 / GTX-1060 / 1tb SSD / 32gb RAM // Touch OSC / Lemur/ APC-40
~self employed AV technician / Schu.VT@posteo.de~
~Berlin~

Post Reply