newbies Q: how do I output to my BMD UltraStudio Mini Monitor ?

Bro, does your rig even lift?
Post Reply
benoitvm
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 17:09

newbies Q: how do I output to my BMD UltraStudio Mini Monitor ?

Post by benoitvm » Fri Sep 13, 2019 10:07

Hi
I have a Blackmagic Design UltraStudio Mini Monitor (Thunderbolt), but it doesn't appear as an output device for Avenue (only the computer display(s) appear on the list; also NDI appears as a choice and works fine).
Am I missing something or is it impossible ?
(Windows 10 laptop with nVidia Quadro P2000 & Intel UHD 630)

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 3745
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: newbies Q: how do I output to my BMD UltraStudio Mini Monitor ?

Post by Zoltán » Fri Sep 13, 2019 10:17

Capture card output is only available in Arena. https://resolume.com/support/en/screens#playback-cards
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

benoitvm
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 17:09

Re: newbies Q: how do I output to my BMD UltraStudio Mini Monitor ?

Post by benoitvm » Fri Sep 13, 2019 14:50

Thanks (=always RTFM :lol: )

benoitvm
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 17:09

Re: newbies Q: how do I output to my BMD UltraStudio Mini Monitor ?

Post by benoitvm » Tue Sep 24, 2019 16:02

Assuming I just need to output using HDMI to an external device (TV or projector), and no frames are dropped, what would I gain by using output via the BMD Mini Monitor (using Arena) instead of the built-in HDMI of my laptop (using Arena or Avenue) ?
Better V-sync ? less tearing ? better interlaced media handling ?

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 3745
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: newbies Q: how do I output to my BMD UltraStudio Mini Monitor ?

Post by Zoltán » Wed Sep 25, 2019 08:48

You'd gain +1 output.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

benoitvm
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 17:09

Re: newbies Q: how do I output to my BMD UltraStudio Mini Monitor ?

Post by benoitvm » Tue Oct 01, 2019 11:19

Thanks
After a short test, it appears that (in my environment) the output using a BMD UltraStudio Mini Monitor is actually less fluid (more stutter) than the straight PC HDMI output :shock:
Tested with a simple 50 fps MP4 clip, project set to 50 fps, and BMD device to 50i SDI.
In all cases, the CPU peaks at about 26%, the main GPU (Quadro P2000) peaks at 13% and the secondary GPU also about 14%, so no apparent bottleneck.

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2797
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: newbies Q: how do I output to my BMD UltraStudio Mini Monitor ?

Post by Oaktown » Tue Oct 01, 2019 15:37

You should with a DXV3 file instead of mp4

benoitvm
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 17:09

Re: newbies Q: how do I output to my BMD UltraStudio Mini Monitor ?

Post by benoitvm » Tue Oct 01, 2019 15:55

Got that, but the decoding overhead of MP4 should be the same, regardless of the selected output device, right ?

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 3745
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: newbies Q: how do I output to my BMD UltraStudio Mini Monitor ?

Post by Zoltán » Tue Oct 01, 2019 15:57

benoitvm wrote:
Tue Oct 01, 2019 15:55
Got that, but the decoding overhead of MP4 should be the same, regardless of the selected output device, right ?
Not quite.

How about if you set the output to 50p or 25p?
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2797
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: newbies Q: how do I output to my BMD UltraStudio Mini Monitor ?

Post by Oaktown » Tue Oct 01, 2019 16:00

For 50i on the BMD, I would set my comp to 25fps for smoothest results.

Post Reply