Resolume Blow effect

Just let it all out, buddy. You're among friends here.
headphonic
Met Resolume in a bar the other day

Resolume Blow effect

Post by headphonic »

As a newbie, I dont know what the actual technique is called that the Blow effect in resolume uses and would like to know more about it. I very much want to create that effect in wire and have more control over it, so any info would be super helpful.

edwin
Team Resolume

Re: Resolume Blow effect

Post by edwin »

The Blow effect simply repeats the pixels based on the x, y coordinates.
It is quite simple to implement in a shader, i attached a Wire patch that implements a simple blow effect using an ISF node.

I'll have a look wether it can be done without a shader, because that would be even nicer.
Blow.zip
(2.89 KiB) Downloaded 417 times

edwin
Team Resolume

Post by edwin »

It's all about playing around with UV coordinates.
I attached a patch that uses the UV Texture and UV Map nodes to implement a simple Blow effect.
The UV Map uses a UV Texture to determine where to sample the pixels. The red channel of the UV Texture determines the X coordinates and the green channel determines the Y coordinate.
By altering (in this case clamping) the red and green channels you can manipulate the x,y coordinates uses to sample the pixels.
BlowNoShader.zip
(2.26 KiB) Downloaded 325 times
Blow.png

headphonic
Met Resolume in a bar the other day

Post by headphonic »

wow....WOW!!! Thank you so much for taking the time to look at this. Its funny cause ive been messing with ISF shaders alot recently (you guys should really promote that feature more) and i knew that would be an option, but was very much hoping for a native way to do it.

This is so helpful and I am gonna take this and run with it. Thanks!!!

corlian
Is taking Resolume on a second date

Post by corlian »

edwin wrote: Tue May 10, 2022 21:15 It's all about playing around with UV coordinates.