Resolume Arena with Denon DJ StageLinQ Integration

Stay up to date with important updates, artist showcases and more
Post Reply
User avatar
bart
Team Resolume
Posts: 2103
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 10:01
Location: Resolume HQ

Resolume Arena with Denon DJ StageLinQ Integration

Post by bart » Tue Aug 14, 2018 15:15

Touch down in Philadelphia, we’ll be at DJ Expo in Atlantic City together with Denon DJ this week to show the integration of Denon’s StageLinQ protocol into Resolume Arena. StageLinQ enables Arena to automatically video sync to Denon’s Prime DJ players and mixer.

phpBB [video]


Arena can not only play video in perfect sync with the playing audio tracks but it will also recognise the songs being cued and automatically start the corresponding video. Just plug in the ethernet cable and you’re ready to go. The DJ has full creative freedom, scratching, pitching, looping and firing cues, the video in Arena will stay in perfect sync.

We’re very excited to finally show the Denon DJ StageLinQ integration in Arena, we think this is big step forward for synchronised shows.
arena-denon-toolbar.jpg
Come and visit the Denon DJ stand at DJ Expo. We (Edwin and Bart) will be there for demos. Resolume Arena version 6.1 with StageLinQ integration will be publicly released in a couple of weeks.

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1058
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: Resolume Arena with Denon StageLinQ Integration

Post by Arvol » Tue Aug 14, 2018 15:33

Awesome work guys!

User avatar
francoe
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 317
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 23:30

Re: Resolume Arena with Denon DJ StageLinQ Integration

Post by francoe » Tue Aug 14, 2018 17:33

20 years from the last time I've saw someone playing with denon stuff. Djing isn't my field, so I don't know why, but all djs I see plays with pioneer equipments.

User avatar
Yuckfou157
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 16:02

Re: Resolume Arena with Denon DJ StageLinQ Integration

Post by Yuckfou157 » Wed Aug 15, 2018 07:55

So as probably half the community ask themselves, why Denon? As mentioned here above, it's Pioneer everywhere and Denon very very verrrry sometimes, why the choise to work with Denon?
http://www.spikkelpaard.nl :mrgreen: Razer Blade - MBP - Arena 6 - Avenue 6 - Chaser - Showkontrol Live - APC40MKII - Novation Launchcontrol XL

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5180
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Resolume Arena with Denon DJ StageLinQ Integration

Post by Joris » Wed Aug 15, 2018 10:48

Pioneer does not officially allow 3rd party developers to access their protocol

Greenfielt
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2012 18:57

Re: Resolume Arena with Denon DJ StageLinQ Integration

Post by Greenfielt » Wed Aug 15, 2018 13:41

Nice feature guys! It is a shame Pioneer doesn't open their protocol.
Though: https://www.pioneerdj.com/nl-nl/news/20 ... tc-supply/

dirtyjohn_lv
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 350
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 22:24
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Re: Resolume Arena with Denon DJ StageLinQ Integration

Post by dirtyjohn_lv » Wed Aug 15, 2018 17:06

Greenfielt wrote:
Wed Aug 15, 2018 13:41
Nice feature guys! It is a shame Pioneer doesn't open their protocol.
Though: https://www.pioneerdj.com/nl-nl/news/20 ... tc-supply/
They never "opened" it for TC Supply. They were old Pioneer engineers that reverse engineered the protocol about 8 (?) years ago and Pioneer finally added in support

User avatar
warpnote
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 15:09

Re: Resolume Arena with Denon DJ StageLinQ Integration

Post by warpnote » Thu Aug 16, 2018 21:11

Great work guys!!

Have you ever thought about doing something like this with Serato DJ Pro?
It would be so useful for my club gigs!

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5180
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Resolume Arena with Denon DJ StageLinQ Integration

Post by Joris » Fri Aug 17, 2018 09:46

To implement sync with any type of player, software or product, the company making that player or software first has to release an official protocol. This protocol, also called an API, specifies what kind of data the player will be sending. If the API includes everything that's needed to establish sync, we can then take what we need and implement it in Resolume pretty easily.

Afaik, Pioneer and Denon are the only ones to have such an API. Of those two, Denon is the only one that allows 3rd party developers to use it. Furthermore, Denon has been amazing with their support and response to our questions and problems.

So, for anyone asking 'have you also thought about doing this for software X', the answer is yes. Yes, we have thought about it, but we can't do it either because of legal reasons or because there is no existing API that we know of. So if you'd really like to see Resolume support a certain product, you have to talk to the makers of that product first. If they're feeling it, they can always talk to us about further steps.

Something you might want to keep in the back of your mind is that developing an API is a gigantic undertaking for a software company, both in time spent on developing and later on supporting it. You need to get it right the first time and then it needs to work forever and always. Nobody likes an API that changes with every new product you release (o hi Magewell). It's what software engineers use to scare their children to bed with.

User avatar
warpnote
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 15:09

Re: Resolume Arena with Denon DJ StageLinQ Integration

Post by warpnote » Sun Sep 02, 2018 13:12

Thanks for the insight Joris, really appreciate it!

Post Reply