Smooth playback - new topic

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
movebandit
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 20:49
Location: Germany,Bielefeld

Re: Smooth playback - new topic

Post by movebandit »

+1
Had the same problems with glitches.Big Problem for professional Venues....

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5185
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Smooth playback - new topic

Post by Joris »

Smoothing the playback is one of our main priorities for Resolume 5.

Unfortunately, it requires incisive changes to the playback engine, and we cannot risk such a rewrite on Res 4.

Res 5 will not be done before 2014.

davide93
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 19:00

Re: Smooth playback - new topic

Post by davide93 »

This looks a very nice news!!!!!! And I guess you've already started to work on it so I would really like to
ask you to consider me as a beta tester. I need to have my work in December done perfectly and I don't want to jump on other software as mentioned in the first post on this thread. So I think by december there could be a valuable beta to use for my purpose. Please this is really important to me. Consider I never used Resolume Arena 4 once successfully!!!!!
I look forward to hearing from you.

Have a nice day,

Davide


goto10 wrote:Smoothing the playback is one of our main priorities for Resolume 5.

Unfortunately, it requires incisive changes to the playback engine, and we cannot risk such a rewrite on Res 4.

Res 5 will not be done before 2014.

Mulky
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 19:46
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: Smooth playback - new topic

Post by Mulky »

+1 Just chiming in. This is super important. Today we rejected using Resolume for a show for this exact reason.
anachphronism/neologasm.

cat
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:03

Re: Smooth playback - new topic

Post by cat »

viewtopic.php?f=12&t=4271&p=18339#p18339

ooo look, from 2008, funny, smooth playback has been one of my priorities since before then, I was moaning about it before then in r2 too.
Priorities for a media server, as I have mentioned elsewhere, several times.
1. play back video in a smooth and controlled manner
2. Bells and whistles, audio (how many users as a percentage actually use the audio and not just play it back in live? Maybe I should make a survey...) video fx, come second...
I have to wonder whether audio has any effect on the video playback too as it has stricter time keeping...
I'd have rather seen an integrated timeline/sequencer, than audio playback, but thanks to vezier at least theres a start of show control...
Lets hope you solve it for Release 5...

Hypnotist
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 01:09
Location: Helsinki

Re: Smooth playback - new topic

Post by Hypnotist »

After many hours of testing:

Smooth playback is issue only with video files. Generative visuals can be quite heavy with loads of layers before any problems so GPU can't be the issue. I have SSD raid which gives output 578MB/s so transfer rate CAN'T be the problem. Compared to Modul8 resolume gives me around 5 fullhd video layers and after that smooth is not word to use where modul8 does 10 without any problems. Why not buffer more things to ram (I'd like to hear really good reason for this)? It works quite nice with other software. It is 2013 y'know. FullHD is asked more and more so vga resolution is not option.

Smooth playback is real issue and you don't provide it before Resolume 5, so tell me why I should pay more for feature what should be basic thing in any vj-software?
------------------------------------------------
http://ljhypnotist.com
iMac 12.2, 3,4GHz/16GB/HD6970m 2GB/TB SSD-raid/DH2go
Arena 4, Modul8, Arkaos, MAX, QC, Unity3d, Madmapper
Launchpad,Maschine, RemoteZero SL, Bitstream 3x

deepvisual
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 15:49

Re: Smooth playback - new topic

Post by deepvisual »

I haven't tested it, but I imagine the quick fix is to play anything judder crucial in another app and bring it in via syphon.

Hypnotist
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 01:09
Location: Helsinki

Re: Smooth playback - new topic

Post by Hypnotist »

deepvisual wrote:I haven't tested it, but I imagine the quick fix is to play anything judder crucial in another app and bring it in via syphon.
That does not sound like pro solution...
------------------------------------------------
http://ljhypnotist.com
iMac 12.2, 3,4GHz/16GB/HD6970m 2GB/TB SSD-raid/DH2go
Arena 4, Modul8, Arkaos, MAX, QC, Unity3d, Madmapper
Launchpad,Maschine, RemoteZero SL, Bitstream 3x

Hypnotist
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 01:09
Location: Helsinki

Re: Smooth playback - new topic

Post by Hypnotist »

one interesting thing I just noticed when playing with arena 4 demo: nothing is playing and fps is drifting between 29 and 59.93. Nothing else is open...

3 screen setup with 2 outputs 1: 1080p & 2: 2560*800 (dh2go)
composition resolution: 1280*1236 (this is 500k pixels less than fullhd)
------------------------------------------------
http://ljhypnotist.com
iMac 12.2, 3,4GHz/16GB/HD6970m 2GB/TB SSD-raid/DH2go
Arena 4, Modul8, Arkaos, MAX, QC, Unity3d, Madmapper
Launchpad,Maschine, RemoteZero SL, Bitstream 3x

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5185
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Smooth playback - new topic

Post by Joris »

Thanks for your testing, Hypnotist.

GPU or data bottlenecking are indeed not the problem in this case.

As described above, it is a problem with refresh rate differences between clips, Resolume itself and the monitor. Generative content renders at the same fps as Resolume, so that's why you don't see it as much on generative content.

We appreciate you looking into this, and we have noted your concerns about the issue. Wavering fps is another issue however, so I politely ask you to keep from posting unless you have questions or remarks directly related to this topic.

This is not because we want to keep this issue under the lid, we are 100% aware and open about it. It's just that too many posts will confuse an already problematic topic.

Of course you or anyone else can always contact us directly for further info.

Post Reply