How to add more 50% blend modes

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
Kadete
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 13:04
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

How to add more 50% blend modes

Post by Kadete »

I'd like to add more 50% opacity transitions/blend modes like the current "50 Add, 50 Lighten, ..."
I love to use 50% HardLight, but on live isn't usable having to going up and down. There is any tutorial that explains how to edit and create a new dll?
regrards

Kadete
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 13:04
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re: How to add more 50% blend modes

Post by Kadete »

Any response would be very appreciated :)

User avatar
subpixel
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 09:32
Location: Melbourne, AU

Re: How to add more 50% blend modes

Post by subpixel »

If you are using a MIDI controller you can set the MIDI input range to be 0 to 0.5 instead of 0 to 1.

You can also assign Opacity in the Transform section for the layer to one of the Dashboard knobs and similarly set the range on the slider from 0 to 0.5.

I would also like to know how to create a new blend mode.

Kadete
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 13:04
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re: How to add more 50% blend modes

Post by Kadete »

subpixel wrote:If you are using a MIDI controller you can set the MIDI input range to be 0 to 0.5 instead of 0 to 1.

You can also assign Opacity in the Transform section for the layer to one of the Dashboard knobs and similarly set the range on the slider from 0 to 0.5.

I would also like to know how to create a new blend mode.
Yes, but that 2 ways mess with the opacity of the other 2 pre-defined blend modes.

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2836
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: How to add more 50% blend modes

Post by Oaktown »

Keep the range from 0 to 1 and set the value to what you need for each blend mode. I don't use MIDI a lot but this works great with OSC so it should work fine with MIDI as well.

If you're working in a MIDI controller, you can set your blend opacity control on a fader to make it easy to adjust.

Post Reply