Midi Settings Lost + Work Around

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
mfo
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 319
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:48

Midi Settings Lost + Work Around

Post by mfo » Mon Jul 02, 2018 13:49

Hi guys

This is another recurring bug, I think I had reported it here in the Beta stages of R6: It keeps forgetting my Midi settings. All files in /shortcuts/MIDI are gone, instead the defaults are restored.
The strange behaviour is, when I open the Midi Shortcuts just once while running Resolume, it will still know them next time I start it. But if I don't open the Shortcuts dialog, the reset of the whole folder occurs. My settings are out of the window.
It seems to have been an issue with "activePresets.xml". After renaming and Resolume replacing it, the issues seems to have gone. Thus the broken one attached (
activePresets.zip
(357 Bytes) Downloaded 77 times
), hope this helps.

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 3686
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Midi Settings Lost + Work Around

Post by Zoltán » Mon Jul 02, 2018 21:00

I have downloaded your activePresets file, put it into my presets folder replacing the one I had.
Started up Resolume, and all my presets were still there.

If I delete one of the factory presets, then modify another one, and delete the config.xml the missing one is copied again ,but the modified factory preset is left untouched.

Just to be clear, are we talking about the actual preset.xml files on the drive which are gone missing, or the midi shortcuts entries you have mapped in the shortcuts panel?
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

User avatar
cvanhoose
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 22:18

Re: Midi Settings Lost + Work Around

Post by cvanhoose » Mon Jul 02, 2018 22:40

This happened to me also at one of my installations. The files are still in the shortcuts folder yet I lost the ability to load them. They have disappeared from the drop down menu in R6

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 3686
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Midi Settings Lost + Work Around

Post by Zoltán » Mon Jul 02, 2018 23:14

cvanhoose wrote:
Mon Jul 02, 2018 22:40
This happened to me also at one of my installations. The files are still in the shortcuts folder yet I lost the ability to load them. They have disappeared from the drop down menu in R6
Could you zip and send the whole Documents/Resoulme Arena 6 folder to us?
Thanks!
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

mfo
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 319
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:48

Re: Midi Settings Lost + Work Around

Post by mfo » Wed Jul 04, 2018 14:21

Zoltán wrote:
Mon Jul 02, 2018 21:00
I have downloaded your activePresets file, put it into my presets folder replacing the one I had.
Started up Resolume, and all my presets were still there.

If I delete one of the factory presets, then modify another one, and delete the config.xml the missing one is copied again ,but the modified factory preset is left untouched.

Just to be clear, are we talking about the actual preset.xml files on the drive which are gone missing, or the midi shortcuts entries you have mapped in the shortcuts panel?
Ha, strange.
In my case the whole folder "C:\Users\XXX\Documents\Resolume Arena 6\Shortcuts\MIDI" and its content was recreated, all modified and new midi Xmls gone.
The actual "activePresets.xml" is not in this folder, thus was not replaced (afaik).

mfo
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 319
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:48

Re: Midi Settings Lost + Work Around

Post by mfo » Thu Jul 26, 2018 12:47

Unfortunately I have to report this bug still happening for me occasionally.

The whole folder "C:\Users\XXX\Documents\Resolume Arena 6\Shortcuts\MIDI" and its content is recreated, all modified and new midi XMLs gone.

I doesn't look like activePresets.xml is the problem. It seemed to be, but bug is still happening.

Can't make sense of it. Maybe it was the installation of 6.0.10?

EDIT: Installed the latest 6.0.10 update and yep, folder wiped clean.

chindogu
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 11:16

Re: Midi Settings Lost + Work Around

Post by chindogu » Thu Jul 26, 2018 22:48

Same problemhere but with previous versions, now i'm afraid of hvieng the same problem
Last edited by chindogu on Thu Jul 26, 2018 23:16, edited 1 time in total.

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5180
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Midi Settings Lost + Work Around

Post by Joris » Thu Jul 26, 2018 23:09

What's the full path to your MIDI folder? Including the user name? I'm thinking it might be special character related...

mfo
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 319
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:48

Re: Midi Settings Lost + Work Around

Post by mfo » Fri Jul 27, 2018 12:01

C:\Users\mf0x\Documents\Resolume Arena 6\Shortcuts\MIDI
Cryptic, but no special characters.

My "C:\Users\mf0x\Documents\Resolume Arena 6" is a linked folder, yet the wipe-out happens only for "Shortcuts\MIDI", not for i.e. "Compositions".

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 3686
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Midi Settings Lost + Work Around

Post by Zoltán » Sat Jul 28, 2018 09:45

mfo wrote:
Fri Jul 27, 2018 12:01
My "C:\Users\mf0x\Documents\Resolume Arena 6" is a linked folder, yet the wipe-out happens only for "Shortcuts\MIDI", not for i.e. "Compositions".
Did you link the folder? With what method?
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Post Reply