Edge on slice how to

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
Endgame
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2019 00:17

Edge on slice how to

Post by Endgame »

Hi!
Im new on resolume and I need to learn how to do edges on every slices, like this:
Image

Thanks!

User avatar
He2neg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 715
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 21:34
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Edge on slice how to

Post by He2neg »

There a a lot ways to get the result all with pro and cons.

For rectangels:
try sollid color & keystone mask it work for some cases (fullscreen / nativ comp resolution)
you also can use slice transofrm on top to get it to other slices

For triangles its not as easy as everybody may think.


My guess ist the most Content is pre renderd before the show for this specific set up and this show...
Laptop: XMG P507 // Intel i7-5500 / GTX-1060 / 1tb SSD / 32gb RAM // Touch OSC / Lemur/ APC-40
~self employed AV technician / Schu.VT@posteo.de~
~Berlin~

User avatar
subpixel
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 142
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 09:32
Location: Melbourne, AU

Re: Edge on slice how to

Post by subpixel »

Here's a start. You can do a basic edge using:
  • Solid Color source (with whatever color you want the edges to be)ill
  • Slice Transform effect (add all your slices, Scaling mode Mask)
  • Edge Detection effect
This will give you solid black shapes with edges in the color of your Solid Color source.

If the color is has red, green and blue each at either 0 or 100% (only primaries secondaries and white, ie full red, yellow, green, cyan, blue, magenta, white) then you can probably use Add(/Add50) blend mode to overlay other content, else you can try adding an Auto Mask effect after Edge Detection.

If any of your slices are touching, you will only be able to get an outline of the combined shapes, since there will be no "edge" between one shape and the other for Edge Detection to reveal. You can use multiple layers with non-neighbour slices, but this is probably a last resort solution.

You can see a complex example of this technique (using Radar to seep the edges) at:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/5854801 ... 736363277/

-subpixel

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2834
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Edge on slice how to

Post by Oaktown »

Try Chaser from Hybrid Visuals which has an Outliner plugin for your slices.

Here is a link to the post about Chaser 3 on Facebook

Post Reply