Why is Soft Edge applied to top and bottom, not just side?

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
User avatar
gpvillamil
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 512
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 03:33
Location: San Francisco, California

Why is Soft Edge applied to top and bottom, not just side?

Post by gpvillamil » Mon Dec 23, 2019 11:06

I am doing a fairly simple mapping project, four projectors across a wall.

I am using Soft Edge to blend the edges (there is a lot of overlap), and am finding that the blend area on the projectors on the end is not just the side edge, but also the bottom.

See the attached screenshots. I would like the edge blend to look like Slice 3, not Slice 1.

Note the excessive shading along the bottom edge.
Screen Shot 2019-12-23 at 2.00.56 AM.png
Screen Shot 2019-12-23 at 2.01.02 AM.png
This looks OK.
Screen Shot 2019-12-23 at 2.03.02 AM.png

Online
Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4109
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Why is Soft Edge applied to top and bottom, not just side?

Post by Zoltán » Sat Dec 28, 2019 12:48

Could you attach your screen setup preset?
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

User avatar
gpvillamil
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 512
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 03:33
Location: San Francisco, California

Re: Why is Soft Edge applied to top and bottom, not just side?

Post by gpvillamil » Sun Dec 29, 2019 01:18

Presets attached
Attachments
output presets.zip
(7.87 KiB) Downloaded 15 times

Online
Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4109
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Why is Soft Edge applied to top and bottom, not just side?

Post by Zoltán » Mon Dec 30, 2019 10:30

Looks like your slice3 is overlapping with both slice1 and 2.
slice overlap.gif
slice overlap.gif (2.24 MiB) Viewed 149 times
That could be the reason why the soft edge gets confused on slice1, though I don't see the bottom edge when I load your preset.
Attachments
Képernyőfotó 2019-12-30 - 10.21.27.png
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Post Reply