Resolume crash when Canon Webcam Tool is installed

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
User avatar
astroger
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2005 18:41
Location: Miskolc, Hungary

Resolume crash when Canon Webcam Tool is installed

Post by astroger »

I'm glad I found this program. https://www.tequnique.com/dslrwebcam Very useful!
My old DSLR 550D/T2i can be used as an input source!

If the Canon Webcam Tool is installed the Resolume will not work properly. Resolume crash when I open a new or other composition. And always send crash report when quit.

If I uninstall Canon Webcam Tool, Resolume works flawlessly again.

Any idea or solution?

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1598
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: Resolume crash when Canon Webcam Tool is installed

Post by Arvol »

What drivers does that use? Directshow?

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4885
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Resolume crash when Canon Webcam Tool is installed

Post by Zoltán »

Could be buggy drivers.

Could you please use the crash reporter dialog that pops up after the crash to submit a crash report?
That way we get lot more detailed information about what went wrong exactly.
Don't forget to fill out your email address, so we know it came from you ;)
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4885
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Resolume crash when Canon Webcam Tool is installed

Post by Zoltán »

Also why not use the free ones from canon directly?
https://www.canon-europe.com/cameras/eo ... m-utility/
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Empyfree
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 287
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 23:36

Re: Resolume crash when Canon Webcam Tool is installed

Post by Empyfree »

Zoltán wrote: Tue Dec 29, 2020 12:45 Also why not use the free ones from canon directly?
https://www.canon-europe.com/cameras/eo ... m-utility/
I’ve had to scrape my system clean of these! They killed another app (ZoomOSC). YMMV

User avatar
astroger
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2005 18:41
Location: Miskolc, Hungary

Re: Resolume crash when Canon Webcam Tool is installed

Post by astroger »

Arvol wrote: Tue Dec 29, 2020 01:36 What drivers does that use? Directshow?
I dont know :-/

This little tool also installed "Microsoft Visual C++ 2015-2019 Redistributable (x86) - 14.25.28508

User avatar
astroger
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2005 18:41
Location: Miskolc, Hungary

Re: Resolume crash when Canon Webcam Tool is installed

Post by astroger »

Zoltán wrote: Tue Dec 29, 2020 12:45 Also why not use the free ones from canon directly?
https://www.canon-europe.com/cameras/eo ... m-utility/
My Camera (EOS 550D / T2i) is not on compatible list so I have not tried official utility before.
Now I tried it and it works. Hallelujah!!!

I spent € 5 unnecessarily on the unofficial version.

Thanks for the help with solving the problem. :-)

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4885
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Resolume crash when Canon Webcam Tool is installed

Post by Zoltán »

The official worked for my 40d and 5dmk2 too, they are not listed either.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Post Reply