3 screen compositions

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
User avatar
massta
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 08:29
Location: Cambridge, MA

Re: 3 screen compositions

Post by massta » Mon May 18, 2009 10:44

massta wrote:
edwin wrote: when using 1920x480
, textures (for offscreen rendering) are created at 2048x512 size.
In theory, outputting 2048x512 will run at the same frame rate as 1920x480.
What happens to the extra rendering? Would it be faster to run the 512? I mean, make movie layers in this resolution size to begin with?

Touch Software had an issue like this a while back. I remember I could only use powers of 2 when applying textures to 3D objects.

User avatar
massta
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 08:29
Location: Cambridge, MA

Re: 3 screen compositions

Post by massta » Sun Oct 17, 2010 02:26

edwin wrote:There is a big difference between the two resolution although not very obvious.
Resolume 3 needs to work with power-of-two textures (to ensure maximum capability) and when using 1920x480
, textures (for offscreen rendering) are created at 2048x512 size.
Running at 2160 x 480, textures need to be created at 4096x512 size.
So that's a huge difference as you can see, hopefully we will find some smarter ways to deal with this is the future.

Is this still an issue?
Thanks,
~Shawn

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5182
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: 3 screen compositions

Post by Joris » Mon Oct 18, 2010 17:44

Is this still an issue?
The complete answer is it depends on your graphics card, but practically pretty much all GPU's support non-power-of-two textures now. So the short answer is no, it's no longer an issue.

Joris

User avatar
massta
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 08:29
Location: Cambridge, MA

Re: 3 screen compositions

Post by massta » Thu Oct 21, 2010 23:23

Great, because I'm mixing with all 1920x480 clips.

My GPU is GeForce 260 with 0.8GB of memory.

Should I go for a card that has more memory since the video files are so large?
Or will I see more performance from upgrading my hard-drive from 7000rpm to 10000rpm?
A 2 minute movie at 1920x480 is typically 1GB of memory.

Thanks,
~Shawn

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5182
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: 3 screen compositions

Post by Joris » Mon Oct 25, 2010 08:06

massta wrote: Should I go for a card that has more memory since the video files are so large?
Or will I see more performance from upgrading my hard-drive from 7000rpm to 10000rpm?
Both will be beneficial actually. It's hard to say which one will give you more of a boost.

User avatar
Tschoepler
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 467
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 04:26

Re: 3 screen compositions

Post by Tschoepler » Mon Oct 25, 2010 09:37

massta wrote:Should I go for a card that has more memory since the video files are so large?
Or will I see more performance from upgrading my hard-drive from 7000rpm to 10000rpm?
I'd go for an SSD–Drive. Getting cheaper every day. Like the Vertex 2 by OCZ.
████▀ ▄█ tschoepler.net █████ zweifarbton.net █▄ ▀████

User avatar
massta
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 08:29
Location: Cambridge, MA

Re: 3 screen compositions

Post by massta » Thu Nov 25, 2010 02:53

Went with a new Nvidia 470 and 120GB SSD

Resolume is flying, thank you.

Having trouble with running one screen for gui and outputting 1920x480 to a matrox or large lcd.
follow post here:

http://tinyurl.com/25tosdu

thanks,
~Shawn

Post Reply