FREE Midi over Lan/ Ethernet midi with 2 PCs

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
pure_angles
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 02:47

FREE Midi over Lan/ Ethernet midi with 2 PCs

Post by pure_angles » Mon Apr 13, 2009 13:24

Ive been trying to get midi over lan working to get two pc laptops to talk to each other.(one ableton, one resolume)

I found this free program to transmit midi over a lan connection called EthernetMidi

Here's a guide to how to set it up.

Requirements -
1. Setup MidiYoke on both computers. This is a virtual midi device which makes virtual midi ports.

2. Setup the network between the 2 computers. For example;

a)Audio PC will have IP - 192.168.0.1
b)Visual PC will have IP - 192.168.0.2
c)Test connection (start, run, CMD, "Ping 192.168.0.1")

3. Run EthernetMidi on both computers. (No install needed)

a)Audio PC.
Set Local MIDI Port forwarded to Ethernet to In From MIDI YOKE:1
Set IP Address to 192.168.0.2
Click Start

Image

b)Visual PC.
Set Forward Ethernet to Local MIDI Port to Out To MIDI YOKE:2
Set IP Address to 192.168.0.1
Click Start

Image

c) EthernetMIDI should display something like:

21:33:50 Opened MIDI IN port 0
21:33:50 Opened MIDI OUT port 0
21:33:50 Opened UDP network socket

DO NOT ENABLE FORWARDING IN ANY OTHER WAY THAN WHAT IS STATED ABOVE OR YOU MAY GET CONFLICTS OR INFINITE MIDI LOOPS!!!

You should also disable your firewall or add an exception for EthernetMidi.exe

4. Setup MIDI in Ableton (Preferences, MIDI) enable Output : Out to MIDI YOKE:1 to Track and Remote

5. Setup MIDI in Resolume (Preferences, MIDI) Enable MIDI YOKE:2

6. Route midi in Ableton to send midi to MIDI YOKE 1.

For example you could send midi from a keyboard: MIDI FROM - Keyboard / MIDI TO - Out to MIDI YOKE:1 (Set monitoring to In)
Or you could send midi from another midi channel MIDI FROM - MIDI CHANNEL 1 / MIDI TO Out to MIDI YOKE:1 (Set monitoring to In)

Image

7. See if ethernetmidi is working. Play some midi in ableton and see if the Outgoing MIDI flashes green in ethernetmidi. Also check if Incoming MIDI flashes green on the Visual PC.

8. Start MIDI Mapping in Resolume.

9. Play midi and clips in time! (Increase Master track delay in ableton till it's in sync)

10. ENJOY!!!

Note: for some reason sending Midi Clock (Sync) data does not work. I think this is a bug in ethernetmidi. PLEASE let me know if you can get sync working.

Do NOT post here if you have problems running this on Vista. I can work, but i have no interest in troubleshooting your vista problems. I just spent an entire weekend wrestling with Vista. Simple solution: Dual Boot with XP (XP ran MUCH MUCH faster in my tests, and with no glitches)

Best of luck!

pure_angles

pure_angles
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 02:47

Re: FREE Midi over Lan/ Ethernet midi with 2 PCs

Post by pure_angles » Tue Apr 14, 2009 04:36

Ok so as mentioned, there is an issue with sending midi clock (sync) data with EthernetMidi.

I've had a look at the source code (available on the website) and found this in the midiIO file.

// FIXME: replace midiOutShortMsg with a general function that can
// output arbitrary midi data (including sysex)


So the developer has written a note saying that midiOutShortMsg needs to be changed.

midiOutShortMsg
"This function is used to send any MIDI message except for system-exclusive or stream messages."
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library ... S.85).aspx

Therefore EthernetMidi cannot send Midi Clock data because it uses this midiOutShortMsg function.

So I'm guessing we need to use a different function such as:

midiOutLongMsg
"This function sends a system-exclusive MIDI message to the specified MIDI output device."
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library ... S.85).aspx

This is as far as ive gotten. I have no clue about C++ or modifying source code, can someone please please please fix this?

User avatar
bart
Team Resolume
Posts: 2103
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 10:01
Location: Resolume HQ

Re: FREE Midi over Lan/ Ethernet midi with 2 PCs

Post by bart » Tue Apr 14, 2009 21:42

Nice one! This will go great with the Live & Resolume tutorial we just wrote:
http://www.resolume.com/avenue/manual/tutorial_live.php

User avatar
gpvillamil
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 498
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 03:33
Location: San Francisco, California

Re: FREE Midi over Lan/ Ethernet midi with 2 PCs

Post by gpvillamil » Tue Apr 14, 2009 22:11

There's another option that's been available for a while, check this:

http://www.tobybear.de/p_midibag.html

scroll to the bottom of the page, there are a number of utilities for sending MIDI via Ethernet, either via a virtual port or via a VST.

Since Res 3 supports VSTs (I think?) you could load the appropriate VSTs in Ableton and Resolume, and send MIDI via Ethernet without setting up a virtual port driver. IIRC it also supports the MIDI clock, I know once upon a time I had the F8 clock going from Ableton to Resolume on another computer, and I wasn't using a MIDI cable, so it must have been this.

The IPMidi driver from nerds.de is also really good and stable, it is free for Mac OS X and paid on Windows, and it interoperates well. I've used it over wireless between a Windows and a Mac laptop.

User avatar
pantov
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 13:54

Re: FREE Midi over Lan/ Ethernet midi with 2 PCs

Post by pantov » Tue Apr 13, 2010 13:09

hi gpvillamil .

did u try vstnetmid with res3?

it looks like a awesome tool... to bad the DL link is broke :-S

User avatar
gpvillamil
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 498
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 03:33
Location: San Francisco, California

Re: FREE Midi over Lan/ Ethernet midi with 2 PCs

Post by gpvillamil » Wed Apr 14, 2010 00:18

Yeah, works fine. I ended up using ipMIDI since it was simpler to set up, but the Tobybear utilities are fine.

Looks like the link is broken/abandoned. Here is another link: http://www.villamil.org/soft/midibag.zip

You'll see that there are both VST and executable versions, for sending and receiving MIDI.
pantov wrote:hi gpvillamil .

did u try vstnetmid with res3?

it looks like a awesome tool... to bad the DL link is broke :-S

to-pse
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 08:15

Re: FREE Midi over Lan/ Ethernet midi with 2 PCs

Post by to-pse » Sat Jan 08, 2011 08:19

Hi guys,

there is a much more straight-forward solution for interconnection two PCs via network MIDI:

rtpMIDI (http://www.tobias-erichsen.de/rtpMIDI.html)

This driver works on Windows from XP up to W7, both 32 and 64 bit and the best part of it
is the fact that it is compatible to the network-MIDI driver which is included in every OS X
since Tiger and also in iOS since 4.2.

So you can connect your PC to Macs and iPhones/iPads as well...

Best regards,
Tobias

User avatar
gpvillamil
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 498
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 03:33
Location: San Francisco, California

Re: FREE Midi over Lan/ Ethernet midi with 2 PCs

Post by gpvillamil » Mon Jan 10, 2011 18:25

This looks awesome, thank you!

And congratulations on the birth of your child - mine was born a month earlier! (And we're still not getting enough sleep either...)
to-pse wrote:Hi guys,

there is a much more straight-forward solution for interconnection two PCs via network MIDI:

rtpMIDI (http://www.tobias-erichsen.de/rtpMIDI.html)

This driver works on Windows from XP up to W7, both 32 and 64 bit and the best part of it
is the fact that it is compatible to the network-MIDI driver which is included in every OS X
since Tiger and also in iOS since 4.2.

So you can connect your PC to Macs and iPhones/iPads as well...

Best regards,
Tobias

ultravox
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 11:10

Re: FREE Midi over Lan/ Ethernet midi with 2 PCs

Post by ultravox » Fri Oct 05, 2012 10:06

Hello all,
I know it's an old post... but if my answer can still help somebody... ;)

If you search a reliable and free solution to connect all yours computers together: http://www.copperlan.org
100% compatible with MACOSX, WIN, your USB MIDI interface and all your softwares
I have a couple of MIDI interface AL88 from http://www.alyseum.com to connect all my synthesizers, amazing! :D
I used it, very simple and fast, real plug&play :)
It's a global solution for my studio :mrgreen:

Post Reply