Layer output as source for 2nd layer

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
User avatar
digital:snot
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2004 06:39
Location: USA

Layer output as source for 2nd layer

Post by digital:snot »

is it possible to specify the output of one layer to be a source input of another layer?

the final effect being that in a 1280x480 comp (2 640x480 outputs) (2 layers total- left screen and right screen):

i can switch videos on the left screen, simultaneously have the output of the left be sent to the right screen where I have flipped the image so it is a mirror of left screen.

edwin
Team Resolume
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 10:40

Re: Layer output as source for 2nd layer

Post by edwin »

no this is not possible, but if this is the only thing you need it for there are some other solutions.
1 - use 1 composition of 640x480 and send it to two beamers, let the second beamer flip it in hardware, almost any beamer supports a flip.
2 - load the same clips in two layers, flip the second layer and trigger the clips by triggering the columns.

HerrNieDa
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 465
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 09:30

Re: Layer output as source for 2nd layer

Post by HerrNieDa »

you can also try some effects like iterate, mirror and the xyz parameters from the clip itself and from the layer! (clip effects don't behaves like layer or comp effects)
MainSys: Z77 UP5,3570K,32GB Ram,GTX 285, M3 128GB,4x3TB R5@LSI9750
VJSys 1: 990FX UD5,X6 1045T,16GB Ram,GTX970+610+610,M3 128GB,3x1TB R0
MBP 3.1; Schenker A102 (650m) & P702 (675m)

cat
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:03

Re: Layer output as source for 2nd layer

Post by cat »

Trouble with flipping a projector is that you might want it unflipped for other things too, you might want to treat a triple head as seperate outs, mirrored outsides, or one image spanning, all in one gig. my 2c...

Post Reply