Way to disable layer blending?

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
hyp
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 01:02

Way to disable layer blending?

Post by hyp » Fri Sep 07, 2012 12:43

So I've created several logos that have an alpha channel, rendered out at DXV. When I load them up on the topmost layer, I would like for the the logo to be 100% opaque. What seems to be happening is that no matter what layer blending mode I use, the bottom layers are still blending with the logos. The alpha channel works fine, but blending still occurs, as if there is some transparency in my logo even when using the Alpha blend mode.

Am I missing something or is it not possible to retain the 100% opaque value of my video? Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

pfelberg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 638
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 04:49
Location: Rio de Janeiro . Brazil

Re: Way to disable layer blending?

Post by pfelberg » Fri Sep 07, 2012 14:59

As far as I know, when you have an alpha channel embebed in your clip, no matter what blending mode you are using, it will allways respect your clip alpha, unless you disable "A" in your clip properties panel. And whenever I have alphas on clips I just leave blending mode as "add".
Sounds like your original alpha is not 100% opaque where it should. Have you closely checked the alpha channel in photoshop already?

hyp
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 01:02

Re: Way to disable layer blending?

Post by hyp » Fri Sep 07, 2012 22:09

Weird because both After Effects and Photoshop show that I have a true alpha channel on my video clip. Iʻve attached an image as proof – itʻs showing all white on the parts that are visible.

Are there any other settings I should be looking for? My gig is tomorrow so any urgent help would be greatly appreciated.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2012-09-07 at 11.07.02 AM.png
Screen Shot 2012-09-07 at 11.07.02 AM.png (102.19 KiB) Viewed 4071 times

hyp
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 01:02

Re: Way to disable layer blending?

Post by hyp » Fri Sep 07, 2012 22:31

Attached are two images, one with how the alpha channel looks in After Effects, and an example of the same setup used in Resolume. As you can see, the layer blending mode is on Add, placed on the topmost layer and it still shows transparency through the layer below.

AFTER EFFECTS
009 - galaxo_720p (0.00.04.06).jpg
009 - galaxo_720p (0.00.04.06).jpg (207.86 KiB) Viewed 4069 times
RESOLUME
Screen Shot 2012-09-07 at 11.28.06 AM.png
Screen Shot 2012-09-07 at 11.28.06 AM.png (670.37 KiB) Viewed 4069 times

User avatar
cvanhoose
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 22:18

Re: Way to disable layer blending?

Post by cvanhoose » Fri Sep 07, 2012 22:33

Grouping, you are on both A and B.

hyp
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 01:02

Re: Way to disable layer blending?

Post by hyp » Fri Sep 07, 2012 22:53

cvanhoose wrote:Grouping, you are on both A and B.
Man, you just saved the day with that single line. Thank you good sir!

User avatar
cvanhoose
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 22:18

Re: Way to disable layer blending?

Post by cvanhoose » Sat Sep 08, 2012 00:36

Cheers! Im glad my first post was a helpful one.

hyp
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 01:02

Re: Way to disable layer blending?

Post by hyp » Sat Sep 08, 2012 04:04

cvanhoose wrote:Cheers! Im glad my first post was a helpful one.
Definitely, you saved me a bunch of headaches.

Post Reply