FFT Settings or Replacement

FFGL, OSC, GLSL. If you like abbreviations, this is the forum for you
Post Reply
emailnikola
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 01:09

FFT Settings or Replacement

Post by emailnikola » Tue Jul 24, 2018 19:21

Hi everyone,

I'm having troubles getting better performance from FFT. Both CPU and GPU are not maxing and FFT seems to skip few of the beats on random. How can I tweak the FFT or how can I use some other FFT. There seem to be plenty new solutions out there. FFT was developed by C. F. Gauss around 1805. Yeah, mind blown, too.

AAFFT: https://github.com/KAdamek/AAFFT
SFFT: http://groups.csail.mit.edu/netmit/sFFT
FFTW: http://www.fftw.org
SFFT vs. FFTW: http://www.spiral.net/software/sfft.html

Please shed some light on this subject.

User avatar
drazkers
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 920
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 10:54
Location: Brady V up in Canada

Re: FFT Settings or Replacement

Post by drazkers » Wed Jul 25, 2018 11:13

emailnikola wrote:
Tue Jul 24, 2018 19:21
Hi everyone,

I'm having troubles getting better performance from FFT. Both CPU and GPU are not maxing and FFT seems to skip few of the beats on random. How can I tweak the FFT or how can I use some other FFT. There seem to be plenty new solutions out there. FFT was developed by C. F. Gauss around 1805. Yeah, mind blown, too.

AAFFT: https://github.com/KAdamek/AAFFT
SFFT: http://groups.csail.mit.edu/netmit/sFFT
FFTW: http://www.fftw.org
SFFT vs. FFTW: http://www.spiral.net/software/sfft.html

Please shed some light on this subject.
What machine specs are you using?

emailnikola
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 01:09

Re: FFT Settings or Replacement

Post by emailnikola » Wed Jul 25, 2018 20:51

I have Lenovo Y50-70 with i7 that goes to over 3 HGz on 8 threads. GPU is GTX 860M. HDD is SSD. Hardware is nor the issue or the subject.

User avatar
drazkers
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 920
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 10:54
Location: Brady V up in Canada

Re: FFT Settings or Replacement

Post by drazkers » Thu Jul 26, 2018 12:11

emailnikola wrote:
Wed Jul 25, 2018 20:51
I have Lenovo Y50-70 with i7 that goes to over 3 HGz on 8 threads. GPU is GTX 860M. HDD is SSD. Hardware is nor the issue or the subject.
What audio interface are you using the get audio into resolume?

emailnikola
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 01:09

Re: FFT Settings or Replacement

Post by emailnikola » Thu Jul 26, 2018 17:58

I'm plugging direct exit from mixer to my Audio IN (integrated sound card).

I'm trying to experiment... Even if I get a response like "Well, you should get a better sound card.", I'm not gonna get the answer I'm looking for. I'm interested to know if someone tried to use some other DFT or if someone managed to unlock the settings of the integrated FFT.

User avatar
drazkers
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 920
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 10:54
Location: Brady V up in Canada

Re: FFT Settings or Replacement

Post by drazkers » Thu Jul 26, 2018 18:50

emailnikola wrote:
Thu Jul 26, 2018 17:58
I'm plugging direct exit from mixer to my Audio IN (integrated sound card).

I'm trying to experiment... Even if I get a response like "Well, you should get a better sound card.", I'm not gonna get the answer I'm looking for. I'm interested to know if someone tried to use some other DFT or if someone managed to unlock the settings of the integrated FFT.
The one thing with forums is that we are a resource for people in the future. You state your having skipping on FFT, the majority of people don’t. This questions are useful for people trouble shooting the issue.

It sounds more likely some tweaks to your sound card can fix the the root issue, not swapping out the whole FFT system.

With resolume being a compiled binary the ability to just swap out parts of the audio input engine isn’t a trivial thing.

I can’t help you with swapping out FFT, but I can help fix the problem that made you start thinking about that. Because really that’s the end result everyone is looking for.

User avatar
subpixel
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 09:32
Location: Sydney, AU

Re: FFT Settings or Replacement

Post by subpixel » Mon Dec 10, 2018 03:36

I made a Processing app in 2009 that I update on rare occasions to do audio analysis. It spits out 10 MIDI CC messages (at around 30fps) based on any of 30 frequency bins. There are various controls such as selecting which bin each output is driven by, changing the output ranges (including random selection), setting the MIDI device and channel, etc.

spxlAudioToMidi
http://subpixels.com/processing/spxlAudioToMidi/

-subpixel

User avatar
gpvillamil
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 495
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 03:33
Location: San Francisco, California

Re: FFT Settings or Replacement

Post by gpvillamil » Wed Feb 27, 2019 15:25

Have you tried ASIO4ALL driver?

http://www.asio4all.org

Once installed, it will appear as an additional input and output in Resolume. It should have better performance.

Post Reply