VVVV & Resolume

Just let it all out, buddy. You're among friends here.
Mayaand
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 17:16

VVVV & Resolume

Post by Mayaand » Thu Jun 14, 2012 19:30

I am kind of jealous of the possibilities there are with Quatz C and Resolume, but why not use VVVV to add a generative element to resolume.


Problem is i cant really find anything on it ? What i find is mostly about having resolume send to 4v, isent there anybody there's using it the same way as qc works in resolume ? (by some screen capture thing i guess)


All links and info on this would be greatly appreciated !! :)

grif
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 02:10

Re: VVVV & Resolume

Post by grif » Fri Oct 12, 2012 22:16

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=8913

syphon was created to frameserve synth'd video from jitter into vj progs, to date there is only a freeframe plugin that can do it but its not optimized for this task

this has been brought up extensively on vvvv forum before and the general consensus was 'you want it, figure it out yourself', and this was reiterated by the devs so chances are we will never see any such a thing. there have been attempts to make a rough video mixer for vvvv, but no one has made any attempt to frameserve video out of vvvv into any other program much less resolume specifically.

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5180
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: VVVV & Resolume

Post by Joris » Sat Oct 13, 2012 00:33

There is actually a framesharing solution for VVVV: http://createdigitalmotion.com/2012/08/ ... y-no-more/

The thing is that even with solutions like Syphon, Resolume will still not natively support VVVV (or Processing for that matter) like it supports QC and Flash. QC was specifically developed to act as a 3rd party 'plugin' so it's very easy to get access to parameters. For Flash we had to create this API ourselves.

As we've mentioned before on this forum, we'd love to add support for tools like VVVV and Processing, but we don't have the resources to dedicate to implementing a complete API for this.

grif
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 02:10

Re: VVVV & Resolume

Post by grif » Fri Oct 19, 2012 23:00

Someone mentioned they figured out a way to do this:

http://vjforums.com/showthread.php?t=37940

apparently this screencapture software worked in resolume somehow, but it was a freeware prog that the devs got greedy with and decided to commericalize, there arent any copies of it left that i can find.

damstraversaz
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 09:39
Location: france

Re: VVVV & Resolume

Post by damstraversaz » Mon Nov 12, 2012 15:07

dxtory works perfectly for this. it as a directx output ( in fact 4 outputs) with very very low ressources needed. ( you must check the directx output in the movie settings ) you can too record the output of the captured application. I'm using all the time with vvvv. it cost 35 euros but there is a watermaked demo if you vant to test it.

http://dxtory.com/v2-home-en.html

hope it helps
digital arts:
http://www.damientraversaz.com/#!art-numerique/c1s43
music for dance, documentary and digital arts:
http://www.damientraversaz.com/

leonida
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 19:09

Re: VVVV & Resolume

Post by leonida » Tue Jan 15, 2013 00:45

hello
I am an Italian student and I am very interested in this topic.
could you tell me how the procedure used dxtory with vvvv.
I use Resolume for 5 years with dxtory and would like to transfer the output of vvvv in my compositions in realtime.
dxtory not recognize vvvv as exe file, so I can not do streaming.
how did you do?
but some of you managed to do it ..

thanks to all

Leonida

damstraversaz
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 09:39
Location: france

Re: VVVV & Resolume

Post by damstraversaz » Tue Jan 15, 2013 08:49

you need a renderer node ( ex9) for having a directx output from vvvv. As you may know dxtory if your using dxtory for a long time, it take the directshow data, so without a directx renderer from vvvv, it will not works.
can i suggest something ? vvvv have some nice tutorial for understand how it works http://vvvv.org/documentation/tutorial-hello-world.
digital arts:
http://www.damientraversaz.com/#!art-numerique/c1s43
music for dance, documentary and digital arts:
http://www.damientraversaz.com/

leonida
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 19:09

Re: VVVV & Resolume

Post by leonida » Tue Jan 15, 2013 20:16

I am familiar with vvvv
In fact, I use the output directx renderer (Render EX9)
dxtory not active reading directx output from vvvv.

You are able to view the output of render vvvv dxtory?

Here's an example of the render window that I know very well:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VkiDsOTm ... creen&NR=1

ps: this is a typical output directx.
dxtory not detect the text

damstraversaz
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 09:39
Location: france

Re: VVVV & Resolume

Post by damstraversaz » Tue Jan 15, 2013 21:30

I don't have a solution, it works perfectly for me...
digital arts:
http://www.damientraversaz.com/#!art-numerique/c1s43
music for dance, documentary and digital arts:
http://www.damientraversaz.com/

leonida
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 19:09

Re: VVVV & Resolume

Post by leonida » Wed Jan 16, 2013 01:20

What version of vvvv uses?
What version of Resolume?
What version of dxtory?

Post Reply