telnet serial port command output

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
Post Reply
Javen
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2020 06:28

telnet serial port command output

Post by Javen »

It is strongly recommended to add the tcp telnet command output control to the resolume stage. This is very useful for controlling equipment. love you

Online
User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1728
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: telnet serial port command output

Post by Arvol »

What!?! Lol
Is this 1998?
There are better modern methods of control for Resolume that are already in place. Please give those a shot:

OSC:
https://resolume.com/support/en/osc

DMX [Artnet]:
https://resolume.com/support/en/dmx-shortcuts

VNC:
https://anydesk.com/en

MIDI Over Ethernet:
https://resolume.com/support/en/midi-shortcuts
https://www.bome.com/shop/bomenetpro
http://www.copperlan.org/

Javen
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2020 06:28

Re: telnet serial port command output

Post by Javen »

:oops:

User avatar
Yu HaiChuang
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 14:38

Re: telnet serial port command output

Post by Yu HaiChuang »

Arvol wrote: Tue Oct 13, 2020 13:41 What!?! Lol
Is this 1998?
There are better modern methods of control for Resolume that are already in place. Please give those a shot:

OSC:
https://resolume.com/support/en/osc

DMX [Artnet]:
https://resolume.com/support/en/dmx-shortcuts

VNC:
https://anydesk.com/en

MIDI Over Ethernet:
https://resolume.com/support/en/midi-shortcuts
https://www.bome.com/shop/bomenetpro
http://www.copperlan.org/
:shock: Indeed, it is already in 2021, I recently encountered an audio device that needs telnet control, but there is no way, I have to use python forwarding to control it.

User avatar
drazkers
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 968
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 10:54
Location: Brady V up in Canada

Re: telnet serial port command output

Post by drazkers »

Alot of us use touch designer with resolume for these edge cases that the dev's should absolutely not be spending time on.

https://derivative.ca/

Online
User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1728
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: telnet serial port command output

Post by Arvol »

^ 100% agree. Which is why I learned TD, because some of these niche use cases isn't worth asking dev's to spend time on if only 0.001% of the users would find that feature useful ;)

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 5082
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: telnet serial port command output

Post by Zoltán »

Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Post Reply