Anti Aliasing option for slices

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
kmifflin
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 14:11

Re: Anti Aliasing option for slices

Post by kmifflin »

+1

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5185
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Anti Aliasing option for slices

Post by Joris »

Oh yeah, forgot about that

+1

User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1346
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: Anti Aliasing option for slices

Post by cosmowe »

goto10 wrote: At this point, we can not do this without slowing down the FPS to single digit numbers though...
Soo...just make it an option for those who are owners of high-end pc's & mac's :idea: :twisted:

Greeeetz
cosmowe
w10 || Schenker U506 || lemur || kp3 || pulse || leap motion || magewell capture dongle

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5185
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Anti Aliasing option for slices

Post by Joris »

You can actually do brute force anti-aliasing yourself by making the composition twice or four times the output you need, and then scaling down before going the output.

User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1346
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: Anti Aliasing option for slices

Post by cosmowe »

How can this actually work with slices? *thinking* :shock:
w10 || Schenker U506 || lemur || kp3 || pulse || leap motion || magewell capture dongle

bildwerk
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:34
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Anti Aliasing option for slices

Post by bildwerk »

goto10 wrote:You can actually do brute force anti-aliasing yourself by making the composition twice or four times the output you need, and then scaling down before going the output.
+1 :D

pfelberg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 665
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 04:49
Location: Rio de Janeiro . Brazil

Re: Anti Aliasing option for slices

Post by pfelberg »

goto10 wrote:You can actually do brute force anti-aliasing yourself by making the composition twice or four times the output you need, and then scaling down before going the output.
But that would mean your clips would have to be re encoded at a high res as well, would´t ´em?

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5185
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Anti Aliasing option for slices

Post by Joris »

This is partly what makes anti-aliasing such a tricky subject. 'Normal' moving content generally would be anti-aliased already, so there's no point in rendering it at higher res during playback. Only content generated in Resolume directly (sources, Flash, QC) would benefit from supersampling.

rrebuffo
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 18:46

Re: Anti Aliasing option for slices

Post by rrebuffo »

Joris wrote:We'd very much like to add anti-aliasing to the advanced output, as well as Resolume in general. Nobody likes jaggies. At this point, we can not do this without slowing down the FPS to single digit numbers though...
I've been using Arena as my main "scaler" device for quite long already under windows and when I noticed the aliasing compared to an actual high-end scaler, did some research and ended up forcing antialiasing through AMD's control panel for Arena.exe and tweaking some V-Sync options.
At that point, FPS stood steadily at 60fps, no matter what kind of routing or output I use. So performance is clearly not a problem for many of us.
Would be great if you could make available an optional feature for the Mac version to "tell" OS X to enable antialiasing (I know for a fact they require the app developers to enable this opengl option within the app itself, as games do)

djsky
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2019 21:42

Re: Anti Aliasing option for slices

Post by djsky »

Just found this hit after searching, So is it recommended to use an external scaler when outputting to LED panels when the pixel pitch is larger than the composition resolution?

Post Reply