Search feature for effects

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
DayVeeJay
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 388
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 23:38
Location: Chicago, IL

Search feature for effects

Post by DayVeeJay » Tue Jun 03, 2014 13:58

It would be really useful to have a search feature for the effects. At minimum it'd be nice to be able to press a letter on the keyboard and have it jump to a file or effect starting with that letter. :D

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5181
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Search feature for effects

Post by Joris » Tue Jun 03, 2014 14:11

It already does that, DayVeejay ;)

Make sure your mouse is over the browser.

DayVeeJay
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 388
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 23:38
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Search feature for effects

Post by DayVeeJay » Tue Jun 03, 2014 14:17

Thanks Joris!

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2824
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Search feature for effects

Post by Oaktown » Sat Jun 07, 2014 15:02

The only problem with pressing a letter to find an effect in the browser is that it find the first name that starts with that letter whether it's an effect or a preset. If it's a preset then it locks on the preset level and won't find the next effect with that letter. Any chance to limit the search to the effects or presets?

Sadler
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 233
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 23:55

Re: Search feature for effects

Post by Sadler » Sat Jun 07, 2014 17:53

Expand all/Collapse all presets would be handy.
Multiple key press (e.g. TTTTT) to cycle through list would be convenient.
Text box filter would be useful especially if plugins and presets could be user renamed.

e.g. [KEY] Chroma
[KEY] Luma
[CC] Colour Pass
[CC] Hue Rotate
[CC] Subtract
[FX] Kaleidoscope
etc.

Alternatively a user (or directory - a la AE FX) defined hierarchy to categorise plugins as above.

User avatar
lotech
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 21:45
Location: AKL, New Zealand

Re: Search feature for effects

Post by lotech » Sun Jun 08, 2014 23:11

The current 'search' for Resolume is completely useless as it currently stands. Needs to have a search field at the top along with jumping to FX by letter - and completely ignore FX presets. That and having the preset lists collapsed by default.

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4016
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Search feature for effects

Post by Zoltán » Mon Jun 09, 2014 11:54

how what about a search/filter function for the effects?
If you start typing then the list gets filtered showing olny effects/presets that contain the characters, and after a few seconds (5) if you do nothing it gets reset.
Searching for filter presets could be an option in preferences, or have a separate text field for searching, and filter the filtered list.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5181
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Search feature for effects

Post by Joris » Tue Jun 10, 2014 10:38

The current implementation of searching is a bit of a compromise between Res 2 style searching (pressing a start letter repeatedly will jump to each instance starting with that letter) and the more common search box approach found in Explorer / Finder.

Like all compromises, it doesn't really seems to satisfy fans of each particular approach. So on Res 5, we're most likely going to have a normal search box for all browser tabs.

DayVeeJay
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 388
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 23:38
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Search feature for effects

Post by DayVeeJay » Tue Jun 10, 2014 16:00

YAY!

User avatar
lotech
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 21:45
Location: AKL, New Zealand

Re: Search feature for effects

Post by lotech » Tue Jun 10, 2014 21:10

But search doesn't even work like that now. If I go and press D it jumps to the first D on the list and doesn't move on at all.

Post Reply