Reset to Saved / Default Value

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
Post Reply
kclarkmusic
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2015 00:39

Reset to Saved / Default Value

Post by kclarkmusic » Wed Feb 17, 2016 19:50

VDMX has a function for sliders called "Marks".

Marks allow you to set a value that you can then recall by triggering the Mark via MIDI.

This allows you to take a speed parameter, crank it up for a build up, then press 1 button to reset speed slider to "1" or whatever your default value it.

This would also be quite useful to all of the "/2 : *2" parameters. You can jump up or down, but it would be great to have a "Restore Default" switch next to it that will jump back down to the stored Default.

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2768
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Reset to Saved / Default Value

Post by Oaktown » Wed Feb 17, 2016 22:14

I don't believe there's any way to change the default value but if you right-click on the parameter it will reset itself back to its default value.

ReggieUnderground
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 08:15

Re: Reset to Saved / Default Value

Post by ReggieUnderground » Thu Feb 18, 2016 14:15

You can assign a MIDI button to a parameter and limit the value range to your desired "default." I frequently use a button that resets BPM to 128. If you want to be fancy you can map a single MIDI controller button to more than one parameter.

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2768
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Reset to Saved / Default Value

Post by Oaktown » Thu Feb 18, 2016 16:28

That's a good work around but that only works if you "default" is your max value but not if it's a value within a range.

It would be great to have a way to change the default value for each parameter in the UI so I'll create a new thread to find out if other people are interested.

kclarkmusic
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2015 00:39

Re: Reset to Saved / Default Value

Post by kclarkmusic » Sun Feb 21, 2016 08:33

VDMX also allows for multiple control data to access the same parameter at the same time (multiplexing).

So while your work around would allow for a single button press to set a hard value, only being able to map one control data (MIDI etc) per parameter means that you'd have to increase your values with the mouse pad and that isn't always ideal.

Plus in VDMX, you can set multiple "Marks" meaning that you could have multiple stored hard values to cue up at the press of a button.

The MIDI implementation (and control data in general), in VDMX is so flexible. Unfortunately the app just isn't stable enough for big shows (and is also Mac only)

Post Reply