GUI Improvements

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
sleepytom
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 233
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 11:11
Location: sussex by the sea

GUI Improvements

Post by sleepytom » Fri Mar 18, 2016 12:33

Please can we have the following features asap.

Custom colour highlighting of thumbnails / columns...
Image

Custom thumbnails for effects slots. (use a png or whatever)

Ability to name columns

OSC output of given names rather than media file names

Ability to reorder decks

"Preset clips" - this would be a new kind of clip slot which recalled settings of the application. So at any point you could save the state of a layer or the whole composition to a clip slot, clicking this would recall all the settings (blend modes, fader levels, media positions etc) allowing you to recall a specific look with 100% reliability...

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2826
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: GUI Improvements

Post by Oaktown » Fri Mar 18, 2016 16:11

OSC output of given names rather than media file names
+1 for sure but both OSC input and output would be nice

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4211
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: GUI Improvements

Post by Zoltán » Fri Mar 18, 2016 16:30

Oaktown wrote:
OSC output of given names rather than media file names
+1 for sure but both OSC input and output would be nice
osc input works, (non unicode)
I really miss the output too
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

sleepytom
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 233
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 11:11
Location: sussex by the sea

Re: GUI Improvements

Post by sleepytom » Fri Mar 18, 2016 19:44

OSC output works too but you get the media file name rather than whatever you've written in the GUI. Makes it basically useless.

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4211
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: GUI Improvements

Post by Zoltán » Fri Mar 18, 2016 19:58

sleepytom wrote:OSC output works too but you get the media file name rather than whatever you've written in the GUI. Makes it basically useless.
yes for most applications,

btw, this is basically consistent with the composition structure, because the clip name in the composition is the file name by default,
the name you give the clip is stored as nameGiven in the composition xml.
these are a bit messed up in OSC.
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=12198&p=49907&hili ... ven#p49907
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

t13swift
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 14:00

Re: GUI Improvements

Post by t13swift » Sat Mar 19, 2016 07:12

Preset clips is an interesting idea. You could expand the idea by having each preset clip have checkboxes that lets you select what (like active clips, parameters, dashboard controls, maybe advanced output presets?) is applied when the clip is triggered.

User avatar
5AMvisual
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2014 11:16
Location: Belgium

Re: GUI Improvements

Post by 5AMvisual » Sat Mar 19, 2016 13:07

I would be a huge fan of layer states.
As this would provide a workaround to switching advanced ouput presets. (which Joris has repeatedly said this is quite a hassle in programming).

+1 on layerstates and preset clips
+1 on column names
+1 on custom thumbnails and custom clip colors.
Sam
  • HacPRO (Win10/OSX10.13 Render+Mediaserver)
  • i9 9900K OC - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA Titan Xp 12 GB VRAM
  • MBP 2018 15" - Livid Ohm RGB - Arturia BeatstepPro - DJTT Midifighter Twister
  • Bome MTP - Vezér


sleepytom
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 233
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 11:11
Location: sussex by the sea

Re: GUI Improvements

Post by sleepytom » Mon Mar 21, 2016 15:05

Just to troll myself + Joris a bit I will rearrange my post into the prefered function request format where rather than asking for anything specific we are supposed to tell what we want to achieve and then allow the dev team to think of ways of doing it..

Thus my requests become the following..
Visual distinction between different clip areas and effects slots (so i can EASILY see what i'm about to trigger)

Ability to create some kind of text label for columns

Ability for the OSC commands and output to match the GUI text

Ability to sort the decks into an order of my choosing without having to edit XML ;)

Ability to click a single trigger an recall a specific "look" with 100% accuracy and reliability regardless of the state of the program when i click the trigger.

</ trolling>
t13swift wrote:Preset clips is an interesting idea. You could expand the idea by having each preset clip have checkboxes that lets you select what (like active clips, parameters, dashboard controls, maybe advanced output presets?) is applied when the clip is triggered.
Yes that would be the logical progression of the concept and is how many other mediaserver platforms work (Catalyst and Hippo both do this for example - the fact that Resolume cannot really does prevent its uptake as a serious option for bigger events)

User avatar
vj granda
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 11:34
Location: Andorra

Re: GUI Improvements

Post by vj granda » Tue Mar 29, 2016 09:57

I totally agree with Tom,

specially with the reorder decks function.

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4211
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: GUI Improvements

Post by Zoltán » Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:43

I found a way to reorder the decks,

save your composition,
close all decks but the one you want to be the first,
go to the browser panel,Composition, look for your composition.
double click on the closed decks in the order you want them to be listed
save comp again.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Post Reply