Page 2 of 3

Re: OSC/MIDI mapping the Mapping

Posted: Fri Nov 10, 2017 02:04
by drazkers
Nice explanation. I consistently debate this with other Vjs and does a 1000x better job then me laying out examples. It's also nice to know how resolume would like to handle things.

Re: OSC/MIDI mapping the Mapping

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 17:47
by xdjxklusivex
Joris wrote:Okay, let's walk through a basic example. Let's assume we have a stage consisting of 5 LED pillars. In the processor they are positioned like this:

Output.png
On the stage, they look like this:

Input.png
Nothing spectacular. right?

Now obviously, you're going to want to have a look where you have one image spanning the stage, and one look where content is duplicated on each of the 5 screens.

What your first move will be, is to take these slices as they are, duplicate them and re-arrange them so they take the center of the comp as input. Then let's say we make it possible to assign midi shortcuts to slices. So you'll assign a midi shortcuts for these 5 new slices, as well for the five original ones. Great, you can fade two looks in and out.

Now, let's say you want to mix and match layers like this. You'll need to start routing layers. This means that for each layer, you'll end up with 10 slices, 5 for the fullscreen look, 5 for the duplicated look. 2 shortcuts each. But you probably want granular control over each slice, so it's more likely somewhere between 5 to 10 shortcuts for each routed layer. Pretty soon, your Advanced Output is a mess of 100+ slices, and 50+ shortcuts to remember. Now you're probably smart enough to use the same shortcut on more than one slice, for toggling looks with one button. Still, switching from look to look for a few layers in one go is going to take more fingers than I have on one hand. Even if we add the ability to switch presets via Midi, the permutations will end up killing you. "Oh crap, I need one more layer. Oh well, let me just update my 27 presets."

Imagine having more than a basic setup of 5 screens. Do Midi shortcuts sound like the way to go for that?

What we suggest is the following: set up your Advanced Output once. One slice for each screen. Close it and leave it alone.

In the composition, apply a Slice Transform effect on each layer, using the five slices from your AO setup. If you want to have the layer fill the stage, put it on Mask. If you want to duplicate the content, put it on Fill.

Mask.pngFill.png

There, you're done. It doesn't get any quicker than this.

All of these are midi assignable. If you want to show content only in a single slice, bypass or delete the others. You can even make presets for these looks, and copy them to other layers to mix and match. Do you want a single clip to use a different look? Apply the Slice Transform on the clip.

Bonus advantage, your preview monitor looks like your stage. Do you want to mirror the look? Instead of creating yet another 40 slices with 40 shortcuts, just use a mirror effect.

MixAndMatch.png
Funnily enough, this is essentially what Mapio does as well. Except it's Resolume native, and you don't have make your slices twice. I'm not saying that Midi shortcuts won't help in a pinch, but I am 100% certain that Slice Transforms (and the other ideas we have in store) are just as fast, if not faster, and are much more versatile in the long run.
Great tip! Will have to give this a shot. Thanks!

Re: OSC/MIDI mapping the Mapping

Posted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 21:49
by deflost
hello. how do you rout the slicees, to composition or to a specific layer, sorry can not understand fgrom your screenshots.
greetings, deflost

Re: OSC/MIDI mapping the Mapping

Posted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 10:11
by Joris

Re: OSC/MIDI mapping the Mapping

Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 12:08
by Yuckfou157
Joris wrote:
Thu Nov 09, 2017 18:21
Okay, let's walk through a basic example. Let's assume we have a stage consisting of 5 LED pillars.
So I finally had the time and tonight the setup to try this out instead of wining about switchable slices, thnx it's killing my newly stable FPS again and is not usable, sorry Joris, I know you try hard to explain everything to us dummies, but still the idea of slice routing&"muting" would be handy if assignable by midi....


With the new GTX2080 series coming out soon, i'll start saving for a new laptop, R6 is way to heavy for a late 2013 MacbookPro

Re: OSC/MIDI mapping the Mapping

Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2018 11:50
by Zoltán
Yuckfou157 wrote:
Tue Aug 21, 2018 12:08
So I finally had the time and tonight the setup to try this out instead of wining about switchable slices, thnx it's killing my newly stable FPS again and is not usable, sorry Joris, I know you try hard to explain everything to us dummies, but still the idea of slice routing&"muting" would be handy if assignable by midi....
With the new GTX2080 series coming out soon, i'll start saving for a new laptop, R6 is way to heavy for a late 2013 MacbookPro
The great thing about Slice transform is that you don't need to have layer routed slices at all.
Every slice takes the composition as input, where your content is already only playing where your slice is.

here is a nice - not short - video about slice transforms:
phpBB [video]

Re: OSC/MIDI mapping the Mapping

Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2018 15:12
by Oaktown
You can also check my Vimeo Channel. I have a few short videos showing how to use the slice transform feature. Just use the keywords Slice Transform in the search bar.

Re: OSC/MIDI mapping the Mapping

Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2018 08:46
by Yuckfou157
Zoltán wrote:
Thu Aug 23, 2018 11:50
The great thing about Slice transform is that you don't need to have layer routed slices at all.
Every slice takes the composition as input, where your content is already only playing where your slice is.

here is a nice - not short - video about slice transforms:
phpBB [video]
So, I've mailed you the mapping and video on which I used the slice transforming, working with chaser you need to use the input mapping as starting point, shitty thing is, to spread your loop all over all screens you need an extra slice to make that happen, then the chaser slices on top of that, and presto I can chase over a full screen image, but it's almost impossible to use chaser also on the comp besides the full screen image as you have to switch slices on and off to get the full screen back, I tried to work something out with slice transform but I couldn't figure out how to get a full screen input from a mapped slice and route that back to a layer and maker that slice full screen in the advanced output...

Re: OSC/MIDI mapping the Mapping

Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2018 09:06
by Zoltán
Yuckfou157 wrote:
Fri Aug 31, 2018 08:46
I tried to work something out with slice transform but I couldn't figure out how to get a full screen input from a mapped slice and route that back to a layer and maker that slice full screen in the advanced output...
I'm not sure I understand correctly, but wouldn't simply bypassing your slice transform effect make this happen?
The slices are already in the right place in the Advanced output (Input selection), so when you play a clip that covers the whole composition, it will be full screen on your slices.

Or do you want to have the texture of a slice as the input for your full screen?

Re: OSC/MIDI mapping the Mapping

Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 07:02
by Yuckfou157
Zoltán wrote:
Fri Aug 31, 2018 09:06

I'm not sure I understand correctly, but wouldn't simply bypassing your slice transform effect make this happen?
The slices are already in the right place in the Advanced output (Input selection), so when you play a clip that covers the whole composition, it will be full screen on your slices.

Or do you want to have the texture of a slice as the input for your full screen?
With the slices in place in the input map you miss of course a big chunk of the original image, trying to map that into a slice to show that full screen whilst the inputslices for chaser also need to bee in place and overlapping so the image is wrong, trying to work around it to get a full screen input and a mapped input for chaser gives this headache ;)