Using stills with the Adobe DXV exporter

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
Post Reply
xuazak
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2018 08:35

Re: Resolume 6.0.9 & Adobe DXV Plugins Released

Post by xuazak » Wed Jun 27, 2018 08:58

Hello Everyone !

I have a suggestion / request after making some tests with all of this today !

In my theater shows, I use a lot of stills that I just animate with transforms. To do that, I export my pictures in DXV files with a given length, and in Quicktime Export Advanced options I tick the "optimize stills".

The chosen length of the DXV is the only way I've found to easily sync the movements of parameters on the time I need. I.E. : If I need an image to slide from x=0 to x=1920 in 4 minutes, I make a DXV file with my still image with a length of 4 minutes, so that I only have to choose Clip Sync in the parameter to get the good timing of movement. This technique is a trick to get the same possibilities as using PNG (as you can set the time of stills in resolume, but not of DXV files).

So, ticking "optimize stills" in Quicktime export will make a 9 Mb file, when a DXV file encoded with the new encoder, or with Quicktime without ticking "optimize stills" will make a 13 Gb file, which is a pity for a still, hey ? By the way, the encoding takes a few seconds with "optimize stills" and almost 50 minutes without !

So, for now, I can still export with the quicktime, so no problem... But in the future, I guess I won't ! So please could you consider adding this "optimize stills" feature in the DXV encoder ?

By the way, bravo for all you've done the last month !

User avatar
cvanhoose
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 22:18

Using stills with the Adobe DXV exporter

Post by cvanhoose » Thu Jun 28, 2018 00:39

xuazak wrote:
Wed Jun 27, 2018 08:58
Hello Everyone !

I have a suggestion / request after making some tests with all of this today !

In my theater shows, I use a lot of stills that I just animate with transforms. To do that, I export my pictures in DXV files with a given length, and in Quicktime Export Advanced options I tick the "optimize stills".

The chosen length of the DXV is the only way I've found to easily sync the movements of parameters on the time I need. I.E. : If I need an image to slide from x=0 to x=1920 in 4 minutes, I make a DXV file with my still image with a length of 4 minutes, so that I only have to choose Clip Sync in the parameter to get the good timing of movement. This technique is a trick to get the same possibilities as using PNG (as you can set the time of stills in resolume, but not of DXV files).

So, ticking "optimize stills" in Quicktime export will make a 9 Mb file, when a DXV file encoded with
the new encoder, or with Quicktime without ticking "optimize stills" will make a 13 Gb file, which is a pity for a still, hey ? By the way, the encoding takes a few seconds with "optimize stills" and almost 50 minutes without !

So, for now, I can still export with the quicktime, so no problem... But in the future, I guess I won't ! So please could you consider adding this "optimize stills" feature in the DXV encoder ?

By the way, bravo for all you've done the last month !
Make a 1 frame DXV3 file and then in R6 set the duration to 240s to get a 4min clip.

User avatar
cvanhoose
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 22:18

Re: Resolume 6.0.9 & Adobe DXV Plugins Released

Post by cvanhoose » Thu Jun 28, 2018 00:45

It is possible;) this 5536x4375 file is under 5mb
27712FD2-2FC0-4C45-B0F3-D9A1DEF191D5.png

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2805
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Resolume 6.0.9 & Adobe DXV Plugins Released

Post by Oaktown » Thu Jun 28, 2018 03:11

Another approach is to make the DXV file 5 seconds (which seems to be the default with the new plugin) and set the frame rate to 1fps. I tested with a 7333x3589 file and ended up with a 15MB file.

The advantage of having more than one frame is that you get access to a full timeline with a pause on the last frame which opens a whole new level of transition control with stills if you use DXV3 codec and a combination of the speed, clip position and envelop keyframing (https://vimeo.com/275404701).

User avatar
cvanhoose
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 22:18

Re: Resolume 6.0.9 & Adobe DXV Plugins Released

Post by cvanhoose » Thu Jun 28, 2018 03:59

Oaktown wrote:
Thu Jun 28, 2018 03:11
Another approach is to make the DXV file 5 seconds (which seems to be the default with the new plugin) and set the frame rate to 1fps. I tested with a 7333x3589 file and ended up with a 15MB file.

The advantage of having more than one frame is that you get access to a full timeline with a pause on the last frame which opens a whole new level of transition control with stills if you use DXV3 codec and a combination of the speed, clip position and envelop keyframing (https://vimeo.com/275404701).
Great tip!

Post Reply