Alpha mode "straight" when inputting clips with Alpha

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
Intange
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2019 17:25

Alpha mode "straight" when inputting clips with Alpha

Post by Intange »

This should be a preference, who uses prematted alpha? This goes against what Alpha is. I myself would just remove prematted Alpha as an option.

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1232
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: Alpha mode "straight" when inputting clips with Alpha

Post by Arvol »

What!?
Then what would you do when someone hands you clips that have been rendered with that?

-1 on this for me

User avatar
Yuckfou157
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 16:02

Re: Alpha mode "straight" when inputting clips with Alpha

Post by Yuckfou157 »

+1 for me, When I download clips in DXV from freeloops.tv, they are always in straight alpha which means I have to set every clip to straight as Premultiplaid is the default setting in Resolume, o it would be nice to set this in the 'defaults' panel, or, when selecting multiple clips, change them all at once...

hakkiro
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 20:31
Location: London, UK

Re: Alpha mode "straight" when inputting clips with Alpha

Post by hakkiro »

A definite +1 from me.

Coming across Premultiplied Alpha is rarer than hen's teeth.
The default should be 'Straight' or, better still, a global preference be introduced in 'Preferences->Defaults'.

Since time immemorial this has been a massive PITA, especially in cases of dropping 50+ PNGs.
The situation is further exasperated by the fact that, unlike some other clip parameters, Alpha Type cannot be changed while multiple clips selection is active.
Boo.

If I need to change the Alpha Type for any more than 5 clips, I just 'Find & Replace' the composition XML directly.

'Find' this string :

<nameGiven value="Alpha Type"/>
</parameter>

And 'Replace' it with this one :

<nameGiven value="Alpha Type"/>
<values curValue="1" defaultValue="2" startValue="1" stopValue="2"/>
<choices value="1"/>
</parameter>

Tada !
Now all your Alphas are 'Straight'.

:)
Windows 10 Pro machines | NVIDIA cards

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4334
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Alpha mode "straight" when inputting clips with Alpha

Post by Zoltán »

Intange wrote:
Wed Jan 22, 2020 00:13
who uses prematted alpha?
I'd guess a lot of people, it's the default for Adobe Exports.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1232
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: Alpha mode "straight" when inputting clips with Alpha

Post by Arvol »

ahhhh..... the never ending argument of which one is right. prematted or straight. here we go again ;) haha

Intange
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2019 17:25

Re: Alpha mode "straight" when inputting clips with Alpha

Post by Intange »

Regardless what you think is correct (even though "Straight" is correct) you should be able to choose "Straight" as a preference.

Intange
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2019 17:25

Re: Alpha mode "straight" when inputting clips with Alpha

Post by Intange »

Zoltán wrote:
Thu Jan 23, 2020 11:19
Intange wrote:
Wed Jan 22, 2020 00:13
who uses prematted alpha?
I'd guess a lot of people, it's the default for Adobe Exports.
I am an Adobe After Effects power user (I create all the content that I use), and Adobe has had some of the most questionable/dumbest releases/decisions of any software that Ive ever used. So an Adobe default to me has no weight whatsoever.

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1232
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: Alpha mode "straight" when inputting clips with Alpha

Post by Arvol »

Intange wrote:
Fri Jan 24, 2020 02:25
Zoltán wrote:
Thu Jan 23, 2020 11:19
Intange wrote:
Wed Jan 22, 2020 00:13
who uses prematted alpha?
I'd guess a lot of people, it's the default for Adobe Exports.
I am an Adobe After Effects power user (I create all the content that I use), and Adobe has had some of the most questionable/dumbest releases/decisions of any software that Ive ever used. So an Adobe default to me has no weight whatsoever.
Except Adobe default's are considered industry standards by almost everyone in the industry.... ;)

hakkiro
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 20:31
Location: London, UK

Re: Alpha mode "straight" when inputting clips with Alpha

Post by hakkiro »

Arvol wrote:
Fri Jan 24, 2020 16:22
Except Adobe default's are considered industry standards by almost everyone in the industry.... ;)
Well, in many Asian countries kittens, dogs and even pigeons are considered a culinary delicacy by almost everyone.
Thankfully, that doesn't make it unversally agreeable.

There is no 'right' or 'wrong' Alpha matting setting.
It depends entirely on a use case.

As for 'Adobe Exports default to Prematted Alpha' :

May I ask what is the source of this claim ?

In practice, Photoshop defaults to 'Straight' Alpha when exporting a PNG with transparency.
This is also true for the Resolume's own After Effects DXV exporter module.
Even though you may choose 'Straight' setting at the video export stage in AE, Resolume will still default to importing it as 'Premultiplied' :(

Moving on, the important newsflash is :

Working on some new Arena 7 compositions this weekend I discovered that Photoshop-exported PNGs with transparency now default to Straight Alpha.
Hallelujah, Praise the Lord, that's the end of this thread for me as far as stills are concerned.
Video importer needs a look at, or an introduction of a Global Alpha Preference may finally put all this Alpha talk to rest forever.

In any case, it's all but a fluff.
There a hundreds of things to enjoy about and praise Resolume for.
Let's not get bogged down with the microscopic controversies.
Attachments
After Effects DXV with Alpha Export.jpg
Windows 10 Pro machines | NVIDIA cards

Post Reply