The 2013 Mac Pro

Bro, does your rig even lift?
ReggieUnderground
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 08:15

The 2013 Mac Pro

Post by ReggieUnderground »

I'm really interested in what the Resolume devs and community think about Apple's new Mac Pro which will be released later this year. It's definitely a beast, but lack of GPU options and PCI slots seem to me to be major concerns for VJ and video professionals. Your thoughts?

LXConcepts
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 00:55
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Re: The 2013 Mac Pro

Post by LXConcepts »

I switched to windows systems because of the lack of external pci/gpu support with prett much every apply product out there now

Mind you, the new Mac Pro as a pretty good gpu built in, but nt being able to upgrade will really hurt apple, at least I think

It does look cool though...
Lighting and media server design

fruitygreen
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 08:52

Re: The 2013 Mac Pro

Post by fruitygreen »

"Not only does it feature a state-of-the-art AMD FirePro workstation-class GPU with up to 6GB of dedicated VRAM — it features two of them."

Quote taken from Apple's site.

My observation:
1.I have heard alot of complaints in this forum about ATI/AMD type graphic cards .
2.Multiple Graphics Card is not a benefit for Resolume.
Nonetheless, it is a FirePro and has plenty of VRAM on a single.

Many goodies in it and a very cool compact device.

User avatar
bart
Team Resolume
Posts: 2152
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 10:01
Location: Resolume HQ

Re: The 2013 Mac Pro

Post by bart »

It looks amazing(ly like a Brabantia trash can) and we'll definitely get one for development as some of our mac pros are getting old. We'll do a hands on VJ review when we get it. (like we did for the retina macbook pro)

digitalgigalow
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 04:50

Re: The 2013 Mac Pro

Post by digitalgigalow »

It is small enough to travel with. I would buy it over a MacBook.

Warspite
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 14:36

Re: The 2013 Mac Pro

Post by Warspite »

Any news on new Mac Pro? Is it compatible with Resolume? I want to switch from Macbook Retina (not enough power and connectivity). But expect some toubles because of AMD video and Mavericks.

User avatar
drazkers
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 960
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 10:54
Location: Brady V up in Canada

Re: The 2013 Mac Pro

Post by drazkers »

Last time I emailed the resolume guys about Firepro cards a year ago they said they have never tested them and didn't expect them to be widely used by VJ's. But now with the mac pro, thats all different.

Since the mac pro isn't widely shipped I figure you still have some time before it properly gets vetted.

User avatar
lotech
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 21:45
Location: AKL, New Zealand

Re: The 2013 Mac Pro

Post by lotech »

Our one just arrived late last week and I've been trying to break it by plugging in as many outputs as I can. It's quite the sea of cables on my desk at the moment. I've discovered lots of things about the Trashcan - some not so good. I've have written about my experiences here (so far) - http://blog.lotech.co.nz/2014/03/macpro-2013-pt1/
Once I've got a couple more adaptors and cables I'll do some tests with playback in Resolume and others in OS-X and Windows.

Warspite
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 14:36

Re: The 2013 Mac Pro

Post by Warspite »

Thanks for sharing!

projectneptune
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 04:03

Re: The 2013 Mac Pro

Post by projectneptune »

Thanks for sharing. Please do send more info as you have it!
mx

Post Reply