Can i have a wave function?

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
Post Reply
alexandremix
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2022 14:14

Can i have a wave function?

Post by alexandremix »

Imagine a rock falling into water, it does a circular wave.

If i add a midi command to a circle opening up, when i click several times the clip resets to the begining deleting the first wave.

How can i make a wave click that keeps up the previous waves?

If i fast click 10 times i have 10 circles.

I want to use functions on led strips for eg that have movement. (Linear)

I dont seem to find a way to do this on resolume.

User avatar
Arvol
Might as well join the team
Posts: 2843
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: Can i have a wave function?

Post by Arvol »

Maybe in Wire, but you would have to instance a few things, and the more you instance the more resources you will be using. Might be easier to bake it out and then use a mask then a beauty pass? Wire can then take the center coordinates from various elements and then remap and scale the files to that location.

cat
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 124
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:03

Re: Can i have a wave function?

Post by cat »

Exactly why gpu instancing exists, it’s not the 1990’s anymore… the weirdest decision to make wire cpu bound (and 2d only)

tijnisfijn
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 196
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2019 00:01

Re: Can i have a wave function?

Post by tijnisfijn »

Hi cat, I think this does exactly what you need. I hope it will help you out.

viewtopic.php?t=22347

cat
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 124
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:03

Re: Can i have a wave function?

Post by cat »

In the early 2000's with vvvv, and without GPU instancing I would be able to use 10,000 objects, when it got gpu particles (mid to late 2000's) it went up to million or so, now with compute shaders and buffers you can get 10's millions, all without bothering your CPU. So while that link shows how you can do the ripples, it doesn't give you a 3d space and as many as I'd like, which to fair for vjing is mostly 10's of thousands. Quartz composer could manage that too. Without isf shaders I wouldnt have much use for wire, which is a shame, but a vertex shader and meshes would solve many issues, point sprites many more, all things you can do in a webpage these days...

Post Reply