In Wire, move around canvas when dragging things

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
Post Reply
User avatar
mowgli
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 402
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 17:28
Location: UK

In Wire, move around canvas when dragging things

Post by mowgli »

Currently, if I have some nodes selected, I can't drag them beyond the visible area of the canvas.
If I drag anything beyond the current view, the canvas should follow my motion.

User avatar
Arvol
Might as well join the team
Posts: 2842
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: In Wire, move around canvas when dragging things

Post by Arvol »

You should be able to zoom (mouse wheel) while dragging as well to get the canvas size to change while dragging.

User avatar
mowgli
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 402
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 17:28
Location: UK

Re: In Wire, move around canvas when dragging things

Post by mowgli »

Every other software with a similar interface that I've ever used will move along with the user's movement. It's the simplest, most intuitive and user friendly way of dealing with this.

If I zoom out to be able to position things it means I have to zoom back in to carry on working. The GOMS model of quantifying UI design efficiency proves this to not be a good solution.

And, I've just tried zooming while dragging and while it is possible it's a sure fire recipe for RSI!

User avatar
Arvol
Might as well join the team
Posts: 2842
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: In Wire, move around canvas when dragging things

Post by Arvol »

TouchDesigner and Notch do NOT have this feature. Just FYI :)

Online
User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1606
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: In Wire, move around canvas when dragging things

Post by cosmowe »

I think that this would be a nice quality of life addition in wire. Its a fair feature request no matter what our beloved grumpy says :P *hug*

+1
Image Do you like outlines? Easy Outliner on Juicebar

User avatar
Arvol
Might as well join the team
Posts: 2842
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: In Wire, move around canvas when dragging things

Post by Arvol »

+1 For me as well, Just letting you all know that most node based engine's don't move with the nodes is all.
Blender DOES however move, but most major node based software's don't.

I've had a request in for years requesting grid snapping. If that hasn't happened yet, It might be a while for this one ;)

User avatar
mowgli
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 402
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 17:28
Location: UK

Re: In Wire, move around canvas when dragging things

Post by mowgli »

I could list all the software that does but it would take too long. It doesn't even have to be node based, anything that has some sort of canvas with limits beyond the current field of view should have this. It is a factual, backed by theory and testing case...

Post Reply