5.1 surround sound

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
User avatar
yochee
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 18:49
Location: Münster | Germany

5.1 surround sound

Post by yochee » Wed Jan 04, 2017 00:26

hello,

is it possible to play 5.1 surround sound with resolume on a windows (8.1) pc via hdmi digital sound out?

we are having a surround video installation with 4 fullhd screens connected via a datapath fx4. i am currently using an old macbook pro with qlab, outputting the sound via firewire to a motu 828 mkii. It works ok, but the mapping tool isn't too good and I'd like to use my windows laptop as it is a lot faster than the mac playing 4k video :roll:

or how to SMPTE (??) on a windows, any recommendations?

thanks

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 3883
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: 5.1 surround sound

Post by Zoltán » Wed Jan 04, 2017 13:15

Resolume can't play multitrack audio in the DAW sense.

as you are already using Qlab, you could control resolume via OSC cues, (start clips etc),
then if you want frame accurate sync you can play an SMPTE track in Qlab in sync with your mutlitrack audio, get the SMPTE into Resolume via line input, enable/set it in preferences, then set clip timelines to SMPTE.

another more complicated way would be to encode your 5.1 audio stream to DTS https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/5.1_Music_Disc
then you could play that WAV file in Resolume and route it via a digital output to an external DTS decoder.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2817
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: 5.1 surround sound

Post by Oaktown » Wed Jan 04, 2017 19:42

Your MOTU 828mkII can generate SMPTE timecode using the MOTU SMPTE console. Check out chapter 14 - p103 of the manual so if you have MOTU AudioDesk or Digital Performer, you could play your 5 tracks, generate timecode from the sequencer and sync your video in Arena that way.

Another approach would be to generate SMTPE directly from Qlab and sync your audio files using the timecode trigger function. I personally use Soundflower (2Ch) channel 2 and Loopback to both route SMPTE back to Qlab and also as a line out signal on the Right channel.

Edit: If you don't own Loopback and don't want to invest $99, you could create two SMPTE cue in Qlab, (one soundflower and one built in output), nest them in a group and choose "Start all children simultaneously".

Edit #2: I always forget about MTC! Instead of using SMPTE to control your audio files in Qlab, you could create one MTC cue and one SMPTE cue in Qlab, (MTC on the built-in IAC bus and SMPTE on the built-in output), nest them in a group and choose "Start all children simultaneously".

User avatar
yochee
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 18:49
Location: Münster | Germany

Re: 5.1 surround sound

Post by yochee » Tue Jan 17, 2017 14:23

thanks a lot guys!! we just got a new computer (MacPro 2015) and keep using qlab.
this is also less complicated for the guys starting the computer every day

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1111
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: 5.1 surround sound

Post by Arvol » Tue Jan 17, 2017 22:58

I've found the Sunflower linking method to work well the one time I've used it. I've used MTC back when I was using ProTools in the studio but haven't tried it for this application. Way to think outside of the box :)

jiaju1993
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2019 02:13

how to play 5.1 audio

Post by jiaju1993 » Wed Nov 27, 2019 09:46

since arena cannot play 5.1 channel audio,

and I find that Zoltán once wrote:

https://resolume.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... dts#p58017

another more complicated way would be to encode your 5.1 audio stream to DTS https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/5.1_Music_Disc
then you could play that WAV file in Resolume and route it via a digital output to an external DTS decoder.

how to play dts format wav and route it ?

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 3883
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: 5.1 surround sound

Post by Zoltán » Wed Dec 04, 2019 21:51

At which point do you get stuck with the file?

Does your wav file work if you play it in other players like Ableton?
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Post Reply