Internet connection but license not udating

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
romanj
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 11:08

Internet connection but license not udating

Post by romanj »

Hey,

we have a win10 computer running an installation with Resolume. The computer is connected to the internet via ethernet. All applications can access the internet but Resolume doesn't. We checked firewall settings - nothing there. Full access granted.
We found a solution which won't be feasible in the installation in the future: Connect the computer via a Wi-Fi connection and it works.
Anyone has an idea where to look, what to do? It's driving us crazy...

Thanks!

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4416
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Internet connection but license not udating

Post by Zoltán »

Could be a bad route, or the DNS servers not being reachable properly.
Does checking for updates work in the Arena menu, when connected only using the wired adapter.?

If not, try disabling firewalls completely.
If it's still not working, open a command line by clicking on the search bar, and typing cmd then pressing Enter.
type:
ping resolume.com
and press Enter

Could you send us a screenshot of the output of this?
Thanks!
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

ronin
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 18:06

Re: Internet connection but license not udating

Post by ronin »

Hey guys,
I have the same problem – internet is working (erm, I'm posting this!) but Avenue 7 cannot connect to the Internet... it's now disabled my licence, I cannot unregister it (no internet, it says) so can't do offline registration... the update function also doesn't work.
I've unregistered it on the website, but that has no effect in the app (because of supposed lack of internet).
Attached is a screen grab of my ping to resolume.com
Seriously – I cannot complete a job at the moment, thumbs-down to this system, basically.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2020-06-29 at 11.27.16.png

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4416
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Internet connection but license not udating

Post by Zoltán »

That ping IP looks correct, what does

nslookup Resolume.com

return?

Looks like your firewall might be preventing Resolume to access the servers. Check the firewalls, and toggling the network location from private to public and back could also help.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

ronin
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 18:06

Re: Internet connection but license not udating

Post by ronin »

I have deactivated the firewall, tried deleting the rules etc. Here is the result from Terminal:

Nicks-Mac-Pro:~ nix$ nslookup Resolume.com
Server: 103.86.99.100
Address: 103.86.99.100#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: resolume.com
Address: 87.233.64.162

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4416
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Internet connection but license not udating

Post by Zoltán »

What you can do to get up and running quickly, would be deleting the registration file, freeing up the registration slot in your shop account by unregistering the machine, then doing an offline registration.

The registration files are in
Mac: Macintosh HD/Library/Application Support/Resolume Avenue/registration
Windows: C:\Users\Public\Public Documents\Resolume Avenue\registration

but that won't fix the original connection issue.

I assume you can reach the Resolume website on this machine in your browser right?
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

ronin
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 18:06

Re: Internet connection but license not udating

Post by ronin »

Thanks for that tip – I deleted the reg file and managed to do an offline registration.
It would obviously be great to work out my internet connection issue, as this will expire and I will have the same problem in 30 days.

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4416
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Internet connection but license not udating

Post by Zoltán »

The machine seemed to be able to verify the license a few times, last time about a month ago, so something changed meanwhile.
Could be the VPN you use, messing routing tables up, but hard to say.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Post Reply